fixed mobo now new problem....please help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2003, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5
Default fixed mobo now new problem....please help!

Ok, ended up being a broken mobo. They gave me an asus a7n8x. Hooked everything up booted and it wouldn't start. It says "error loading opperating system". Granted this is because the computer died mid install last time, but I do not know how to go about fixing this. How do I reinstall xp?

Another thing, when the computer is booting up it says my ram speed is 166 dual channel...I bought 3200...wouldn't that be 200 mhz dual channel? I can change it to 200 but then when it boots it says I have a 3200+ instead of my 2500+

How should I have my bios set up for a 2500+ cpu and 2x512 sticks of 3200 ddr?

again thanks for the help

Halvie is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 05:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 99

Whenever there is a hardware error detected, all hardware on the mobo will be default to the lowest speed.

Im not familar with AMD but i believe there is a separate menu for RAM clock speed and CPU front side bus speed.

Reinstalling XP, you just need to boot it up from the CDROM again. Remember to set 1st boot device as ur CDROM before you put the disk.

PIV 2.6Ghz w HT 512k Cache 800Mhz FSB
Twinmos 1GB DC 400 CL2.5
120GB IBM 7200RPM w 2MB cache
120GB Maxtor 7200RPM w 8MB cache
Nvidia FX5200 128MB
Philips SXGA 150S4 15\" LCD
Cooler Mastor Centurion
Global WIN Cooling System
TDK Cyclone 48X24X28X CDRW
Panasonic FDD
Intel PRO 10/100 TX
Sigma IrDA Port
PixelView FM/TV Pro
James is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 11:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00

ok for the ram set it by spd in the bio for recommended settings and for processor if its 2.06 ghz then set clock speed on processor to 133 and the multiplyer to 15.5
Knight of the Roses
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik

it was showing you your external clock speed. your ram will be running at 200. but if the fsb of your processor is 366 then your external clock speed will be 166. and having pc3200 ram is like a back up saying that you can adjust your external clock speed UP TO 200 without affecting the ram any. and after that then it starts overclocking your ram also. and btw, if your motherboard only supports fsb of up to 333mhz then your external clock speed should be 166 constantly. that is if your processor is 333mhz fsb also. and then adjust the multiplier right. lets say your processor is supposed to run at 2ghz and it has 333mhz fsb. you just divide 2000 by 166 and it will give you your multiplier. my processor runs at 266mhz fsb so it's defualt multiplier is 11.5. making it 1.53ghz. i think that was probably really confusing though
Erik is offline  
Old 10-25-2003, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

yeah that was a bit confusing. i think one of your numbers was a typo too (366). to summarize what bandage_boy said:

your CPU should be running at 166mhz FSB
memory should run at 200mhz.

cpu and memory run at separate bus speeds. it probably is safe to leave your CPU at 200mhz to overclock to xp3200 like you had it. here's why:
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.