first time building a pc... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2005, 01:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

there's a maxtop case that's $3x, look around, dale has posted it numerous times

other than that, you're all set
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 01:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to deh707
Default

this one?
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...150-056&depa=0

so im all set?

uh oh, what about the 56k modem and ethernet card? (for cable or dsl internet)
__________________

deh707 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 01:49 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1. you use 56k???
2. ethernet is onboard, it comse WITH the mobo
3. you should check out DFI's SLI mobo
4.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...150-017&depa=1

it's that one, get that case instead
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 01:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to deh707
Default

oh, ethernet comes with the mobo... didnt know that.

about the 56k, just incase.

will i still be able to use dial up?
deh707 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 01:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well doesn't your old comp have a 56k modem card? i mean you're not going to play games on it if you're in desperate need for internet, so i guess you just hook up your old comp to the dial-up (i do this too, in case my cable goes down).

oh, and if you don't plan on going SLI, get this mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...136-152&DEPA=1
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to deh707
Default

ok, forget the 56k card.

what's SLI? something to do with a video card?

no, i plan to stay with pci express x16
deh707 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

SLI=2 of the same video card

in the future, do you plan on getting another evga 6600gt when you upgrade?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:16 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to deh707
Default

2 of the same video card???? i never heard of that.
what's the point of that?

by the way, so these are the final specs that will work:

MAXTOP Signature Series Type II Mid Tower PC, Model "CSX-147K2FGRAY" -RETAIL

Seagate 120GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model ST3120026A-RK, Retail

TwinMOS Dual Channel Kit 184-Pin 1GB(512MB x 2) DDR PC-3200, Model TMII400/1GB - OEM

DFI "LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D" NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL

OCZ ModStream 450W Power Supply with OCZ EZMod technology, SATA Connector, Model "OCZ45012U" -RETAIL

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache, Socket 939 64-bit Processor - Retail

EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Video Card, 128MB GDDR3, 128-Bit, DVI/TV-Out, PCI-Express, Model "128-P2-N368-TX" -RETAIL
deh707 is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:19 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yes, that'll be a great comp (where's the NEC dvd-rw drive???)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-03-2005, 03:20 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to deh707
Default

oh, i still have it, i only mentioned the parts that confused me with incompatiblities.

the pics on the first page are my final settings.
__________________

deh707 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.