First time Building Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2004, 09:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default First time Building Help!

This is the specs of my new comp I am about to order:
Case: Antec Sonata Mid-Tower(Black)+380w

CPU: Intel P4-3.0C

Floppy: Sony 1.44 Floppy Black

HD: Maxtor 120G-7200rpm(8M)

Keyboard/Mice: Logitech cordless MxDuo

Memory: Kingston 512MB(PC3200) DDRAM

NIC: Dlink 538TX 10/100 PCI

MOBO: Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400

DVD Burner: LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black

DVD Rom: LG 16X DVD

Sound Card: Creative Audigy OEM

Speaker: Creative SBS350

Video Card: ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M Box

Questions: (First time I am building the computer)
- About the case, I noticed that the PSU comes with the case, what about the fans? Do I need to buy the cooling or does it also come with the case?

- About the memory, the store does not have Corsair brand of ram, is Kingston my best choice next to Corsair? Or should I stick with Corsair and find it elsewhere?

- The MOBO supports up to 4GB of DDR400, is DDR400 = PC3200? Are they compatible?

- Since this is my first time building, I am wondering when I am actually building it, should I be wearing some kind of glove instead of bare hand? And what extra cables or tools do I need?

- Please advice me any hardware I should change in my list. And is 380 W of PSU enough for it?
__________________

lavenderAC is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to ccskorn
Default

i just recieved the exact same case and it is beautiful, and comes with a 120 mm fan in back, plus the one in the power supply, i'd see what your temps are with that then get another fan if needed
__________________

__________________
My Rig
- Antec Sonata Case w/ 460w Enermax Whisper II PSU
- Abit NF7-M Motherboard
- AMD XP 2500+ Barton w/ Thermaltake Silentboost HS/F
- 1GB PC3200 Corsair XMS Series
- Geforce 6800
- 80GB Western Digital Special Edition
- NEC DVD+-RW Drive
- Windows XP Pro
ccskorn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 10:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy cordless keyboard and/or mouse.
The cordless mouse is heavy and a pain to the wrists not to forget the frequent change of batteries.
Buy an optical mouse instead.

Buy an AMD ATHLON 3200+ and with the money U save U can buy better speakers. Creative SBS speakers s__ck. Atleast go for Creative Inspire.

If u can spend a little extra U can go for AMD64 solution.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 11:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

I am considering AMD 64 as well. Any answer for the other questions? THanks
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 11:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

I would not consider and amd for your first build you will be more then happy with 3.0. You setup looks fine. Everything is perfect I also just got that case and you dont need anything else with it. No special tools just a screwdriver and some zip ties and cutters for a little cable managment. The 380 watts psu is more then suffiicent. You can work with your bare hands fine, make sure that the computer is never plugged in and the psu is switched off.

Also why the nic card? I am pretty sure that the mobo comes with one. And if your going to get a soundcard I would get something like audigy 2. Otherwise your setup is perfect.
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

Thanks for the answers. The only question left is about the memory. Is Kingston a solid memory brand?
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lavenderAC
Is Kingston a solid memory brand?
Yes. Very. But what kind of Kingston ram is it?

Are you getting their value ram? I personally would pass on that, but that's just me, I'm sure others may disagree. May be fine for your needs.
Bulldog is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 01:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

Its says Kingston 512MB DDR Ram (PC3200)
__________________
First Built Computer:
Antec Plus1080(SOHO File Server)+430w
Intel P4-3.0E 1M Cache
Asus P4P800-Dlx i865PE,800FSB Dual DDR400
WD 120G-8MB Buffer
LG 16X DVD
LG GSA4082B DVDRW 8X +/- Black
ATI Rdeon 9600XT 128M
Creative Audigy
512MB DDR PC3200
lavenderAC is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

Get dual channel memory and a prescott 3.2 or 3.4, not wireless keyboard and mouse that crap never works. more power. better video card.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 02:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 260
Default

Whats the difference between Kingston 512MB(PC3200) DDRAM and Kingston KVR-512-333 DDR SODIMM?
And why is it that Kingston 512MB(PC3200) DDRAM is cheaper than Kingston 512MB(PC2700) DDRAM??
__________________

lavenderAC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.