First Time Builder, Please Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2004, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default First Time Builder, Please Help

Okay, I just got my new pc and have everything in the case and connected, how I think it should be connected. I don't want to turn the PC on until I KNOW everything is right, so I was wondering if you guys could verify everything I have done.
NOTE: Sorry if I don't use correct terminology.

I have my power switch, reset switch, and internal speaker connected right. The HDD LED and Power LED, I'm not sure about because polarity matters for those, so I will just do trial and error. I haven't connected the Front panel USB ports to the motherboard yet because I don't know how, and I also won't be using themthe first time I turn it on.

I have my ATX 20-Pin Power Connector connected to the motherboard. I have my ATX 12V Power Connector connected to the motherboard also.

I have my 160GB ATA133 HDD set to master and have the black 40-pin connector plugged in to that, on the primary IDE. I have the CD Burner set to slave and have the grey 40-pin connector plugged into that, aslo on the primary IDE. I have the floppy drive cable connected to the floppy drive.

I have the heatsink fan power wire going to the CFAN port labeled on the motherboard.

I have 4-pin power connectors going from the PSU, to the HDD, the FDD, CD-ROM, the video card (6800), and 2 case fans. One thing about the case fans though, they have two connectors for each fan. One connector is a 4-pin power male version and the other is female. I plugged the 4-pin power connector from the PSU into one of those and was wondering what the other one was for.

Thanks for any help you provide.
__________________

uNsaiN is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

You could always turn it on

The only thing that could mess up is the CPU and you stated that you plugged in the fan so It wont mess up.......


Why is the cd drive slave?
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

I only have one IDE cable, for now, and the Hard Drive is set to master. Also, I bought a retail AMD Athlon 64 3500 and there was a silver greyish pad on the bottom of the Heat Sink, so I'm hoping that was the thermal pad.
uNsaiN is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

I believe the slave/master only pertain to HDs and well it doesnot matter for cd drives...just start it up and post how it goes
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

If it didn't pertain to CD drives then why would they have jumpers for the slave and master setting?
http://www.buildyourown.org.uk/build...=drives&page=3
uNsaiN is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

It dosent matter if you only have one drive....
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Ok. I am going to power it up after one last final check. Does it matter if my computer lays on its side, or should I stand it up?
uNsaiN is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

Lol your paranoid as heck man. IT doesnt matter.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 09:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

I know. I don't want to have spent $1,700 on something I mess up. Okay, going to turn it on. Will be back in a few to tell how it went.
uNsaiN is offline  
Old 12-19-2004, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 117
Default

Okay I turned it on. It works! w00t!!!
It starts flashing a screen about my Ethernet Network.
__________________

uNsaiN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.