First Pc's (or the oldest you can remember) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2005, 04:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Apple Macintosh Performa 450
25mhz 60830
4MB RAM
Mac OS 7.1 (later 7.5.3)
250MB Harddrive (later 1GB)
12" Apple RGB Monitor
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 11-25-2005, 04:56 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

All i remember was it was from 1995, had Win 3.2 installed in it and had cooler games than the ones that come with WIN XP.

That was my first computer, then in 1997 got a Compaq Pesario, I think it was a pentium 2?
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 10:20 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i ran a P166 up until this year!!! then i got a PII lol. this xmas i'm getting a 3700+san diego so thats a slight upgrade
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 10:45 AM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Default

1st PC was an IBM PC jr back in 1985. Anyone remember those!? Awesome machines. I think the BEST PC ever made by IBM at any given time. They were affordable, and had pretty much everything that even older clones and 286's didn't have. I honestly don't remember the specs, but I had 640kb of memory, 1 floppy drive and 2 cartridge bays. Yes, back in those days everything would fit on a 5"1/2 floppy.

I'm sure there are some old schoolers in here that had Vic20's that had to be loaded from audio tapes, but I was only able to "touch" one of those beauties in a store (at that time my parents were too poor to get me one 1982-84).

insecteye is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:32 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Default

I had a commodore 64 that hooked up to a tv, it had a big floppy drive and no hard drive, but I had a koala pad which was the ****
fork is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:51 PM   #26 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Apple II+


This was way back in 1984.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:57 PM   #27 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
I had an early "laptop"

Intel 6mhz
256k RAM
10mb Hard Drive
Green Monochrome screen

All of this computing power packed into a 26 pound behemoth.

I pulled something like that out of someones trash pile one time during the spring clean up, but I ended up giving it to a friend, god only knows where it is now.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-28-2005, 03:07 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

thats as much RAM as my cache right now!!! :P
talldude123 is offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 02:36 AM   #29 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

hrmm i don't know anything about mine, really old commodore amigo.. something like that, crazy old piece of crap...
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.