First computer ever? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2004, 10:05 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161

My first compute was an Apple IIc and the keyboard was bullt in the whole computer no keypad had something like 64K RAM and had 8 inch screen with green letters. bout 14MHz

Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 11:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
kboy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041

NEC 166Mhz
16 MB Ram
2.1 HD
On-Board Video 2 MB
15 Nec Monitor & all this for only 1,500.00

ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 12:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

the apple IIe's had colour screens didn't they?
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 07:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 7

I never had a computer growing up, and I bought my first one when I was twenty two.

it was a gateway.
400 PII
96 mb ram
Banshee video card
LS 120 superdisk drive
10 gig hard drive
36x cd rom

to that I later added a burner. then a voodoo 3000 agp.

then I got a good deal on an amd athlon (650 mhz) and motherboard when it was introduced. I could not however get it to fit the slightly proprietary gateway case, and since it needed a more powerful power supply that my gateway had anyway, just bought a new case. at this point I also added a soundblaster live card, since my old soundcard was on-board.

then my software based modem died, prompting me to trade my old banshee to a co-worker for his old us robotics controller based modem, which I use and love (to the point of heavy petting) to this day.

around this time me and my coworkers were throwing lan parties where we played the new betas of a little known game called "counter strike", thus prompting me to buy a 10/100 card.

this past year I had my pwer supply die, explode really, but fortunately it took no other components with it, as I found to my great relief when I put in my new 450 watter.

more recently my hard drive died, but a friend of mine gave me his old computer which he wasn't using anymore, so now I'm running:

650 athlon
224 megs of ram
20 gig hard drive
32 meg tnt2 video card
ls 120 superdisk
dvd rom
8x burner
best 56k modem ever
soho nic card

in a sense, I am still on my first computer, except only two sticks of ram and my ls 120 drive are original. who says you can't perpetually upgrade?
sacrelicious is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 11:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161

Originally posted by apokalipse
the apple IIe's had colour screens didn't they?
Yes the IIe had color screen, anything below that did not
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 12:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to dxcouch Send a message via Yahoo to dxcouch

first was a Packard Bell

100Mhz processor
8 MB Ram

2nd was a Gateway
Pentium 2
32Mb of memory
100MB HD

3rd is my current PC
1.4Ghz P4
256MB Ram
40 GB HD

Also had a Custom build that was was traded in
1.8 Ghz
256MB Ram
60 GB HD

1st Laptop
toshiba Satellite
is as old as the Packard bell

and then my current laptop which is a Dell Inspiron 1100
2.0 Ghz
256MB Ram
dxcouch is offline  
Old 01-07-2004, 01:48 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 21

started with some kind of tape deck pc, then a laser ibm clone, my first own
computer was a blazing 33mhz +turbo66 oh yeah.......

now i have left all my troubles behind with a power mac g4......
gumshoe is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 03:07 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

the second PC i had was (I think) a Windows 2 machine (or one of the really early versions of it) but I don't know the specs, I had it when I was really a noob on PC's (at about age 7 or 8)
my current PC has the specs below
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 06:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
Harper's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: First computer ever?

Originally posted by alecjahn
What was the first computer you ever had?
Apple IIe. (1984)

Apple II+. (1984 to 1989)

Mac SE30 (1989 to 1993) Dad still uses this computer for his school reports.

Mac IIsi with 14in CRT (1993 to 1996)

Clone PC P-100 (1996 to 1997)
P 100, 16Mb Ram, 500 Mb Hard drive, 2Mb Video Card, Sound Card, CD Rom. 15" CRT
This PC was liberated from work as they were not able to pay me for the DTP work I was doing.

Following PC were build by me.

Clone PC AMD-K6 233 (1997 to 1999)
AMD K6 233, 64Mb Ram, 3 Gb Hard Drive, 4Mb Video Card, 12Mb 3D Card, Modem, CDRom, CD Burner, Full Tower Case, 17" CRT

Clone PC AMD Athlon 900 (1999 to 2003)
AMD Athlon 900, 256Mb Ram, 20 Gb Hard Drive, 32Mb Riva TNT, DVD, CD Burner, Full Tower Case, 17" CRT with Trinatron tube

Clone PC AMD Athlon 1700 (2003 to Now)
AMD Athlon 1700, 512Mb Ram, 128Mb Video Card, Total 120 Gb Hard disk pace, DVD, CDRW, DVD+-RW. 19" CRT.

Mind you, there has been a lot of upgrading between one clone PC another another.

Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 01-20-2004, 08:21 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 48

The Vic-20

put in the tape start loading game, go play soccer, come back play game, die, lrestart, go play soccer

Asus A7N8X-X
AMD xp2500+
pc2700 512mb (OEM)
GeXCube Radeon 9600XT Game Buster

3890 on 3D mark03
28,574 on AquaMark03
Ox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.