First computer ever? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2003, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default First computer ever?

What was the first computer you ever had?

Ours was a 286 Bondwell "Laptop" (literally)

it had an 8 inch monochrome display, a 20MB HD and only like 512 Kb of memory, but DOS ran like a charm!
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 04:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 47
Default

i had a toshiba laptop 16 MB ram

133 mhz processor

1.4 GB hd
with windows 3.1
__________________

scorpiopank is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 04:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

scorpio, you gotta be a young 'un, im only 19 and my first computer was an 8088, it ran at about 8MHz, had a 200MB HDD, a 5.25" floppy and a 3.5" floppy, with i think 128 or 256KB of ram, lol it was a speedy demon, i tell ya
dethangel is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 47
Default

well i am not as young as you but still the laptop which i told was the one which i owned but the computer i have wotrked upon first was the one BBC computer with 1kb of memory
and that was in the year 1986
scorpiopank is offline  
Old 12-29-2003, 05:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

My first computer was two sticks and a rock.

Dayum..now that's archaic! LOL!
__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 12-30-2003, 05:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Bleep
My first computer was two sticks and a rock.
ROFL!!

my first (not really mine mine but my parents) was a Mac 128
128KB HD space
tiny B&W monitor (something like 8")
1 button mouse
keyboard did not kave numpad
had 1 game
ribbon ink B&W printer
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 04:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

My first was a texas Intrument thing that I would punch in programs I found in magazines that would make a stick figure appear to run across the screen to something like music ca. 1984. This was TIs answer to the Comodore 64..anyone remember that one?
TheCreator is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 09:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Ahhh, yes the C64....
I remember sitting in front of a C64 for like 5 to 6 hours one day. I was creating a program in basic that displayed an american flag.....and it even looked like it was blowing in the wind!!!

10 SCREEN 1 WIPE: TINT=........ahhhh forget it. LOL!

-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 09:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

Quote:
My first was a texas Intrument thing that I would punch in programs I found in magazines that would make a stick figure appear to run across the screen to something like music ca. 1984. This was TIs answer to the Comodore 64..anyone remember that one?

Yes this was the TI994a. ran basic code and i was very familiar with the stick figure program. I had that computer till i got my blazing fast 486 dx 33. I thought i was on top of the world.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-06-2004, 10:29 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 204
Default

you could put cartridges in the 99/4a and make it run pascal, etc... I think I still have one around...
the good old timex/sinclair - you had to use a pencil to type on that one. . . The Ataris, commodores, killer machines for their day... You could do so much in 4K or ram....

One of my first projects when I was learning about compukers was to transfer data from an IBM Displaywriter to ibm pcs - (*8 inch diskettes*). . . Thank god i had an IBM Series/1 and Dec PDP 11 and Vax... to play on while I was waiting...
__________________

gruntwerk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.