Firewire/USB 2.0 PCI Cards not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2005, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Unhappy Firewire/USB 2.0 PCI Cards not working

I have an HP Pavillion with an AMD Athlon 1900+ 1.6GHz running WIN XP Home edition.

I recently purchased a 300gb hard drive from Seagate and I needed a firewire / USB 2.0 for the drive. I first purchased a cheap Q-stor Firewire PCI card that shut my CPU down whenever I started up the external drive. The card was recognized by the CPU, but the shutdowns were unavoidable. After the shutdown the CPU could not fully boot to Windows with the card installed. I would take the card out of the PCI slot and it worked fine.

I now have a D-link PCI USB 2.0 / Firewire combo card that is not recognized by my system at all. The driver that came with the box installed fine, but still no card...


What do I need to do so that I can start using my new external drive with my CPU?

Many thanks.

piseas is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 04:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to Lintball

I don't know if the drivers from the previous firewire card could be causing i would go into device manager and then to pci and look and see what all shows up...if the old card does then delete the driver then try to reinstall the d-link driver....or maybe the drivers could have had a bug or two...maybe try to check the d-link site for any new drivers or patches

Lintball is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 11:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default tried that

Yeh, I tried looking for that-the only thing that I found remotely close was a USB port of some sort, but nothing resembling a Firewire 1394 IEEE Bus host. Is it possible that the D-Link card is not compatible with my computer?

Thanks for your help.
piseas is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499

Unlikely. This may also be a PSU problem. Do you have enough wattage to run this card and drive? Is the external firewire drive supplying its own power or feeding off your PSU?
<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 07-19-2005, 12:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8

The external drive has its own power supply. Someone suggested an IRQ issue...

Here is a link from another discussion about the same issue :
piseas is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.