firewire header - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2004, 05:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default firewire header

I have a gigabyte 81875 Ultra motherboard, it has a IEEE 1394 control chip and two IEEE 1394 headers(?) but does not seem to have any firewire ports. do i just need to get some cables/adaptors which would enable me to connect firewire devices to my motherboard or do i need to get a firewire card?

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 05:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
bobojuice's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice

You could get a firewire card which would then be connected to the headers on your motherboard, or you could get a case that has integrated firewire ports and attatch those wires to the headers. Either way would work...

Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

yeah your computer has to have the port in the back like usb ports, and then you gotta think to yourself, well how do those usb ports get power? They are hooked to the USB headers. Same principle follows here.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069

if i get a new case which has firewire ports, how will i connect the ports on the case to the headers on the mobo?
would the case come with the connecting wires.

i did not have USB headers but USB ports on the mobo, and these stick out of the case(there were holes on the case to allow the USB ports to come out). i am now wondering what happens when i get a case with USB ports, i guess the USB ports of the case are gonna remain unconnected, and i would also have to make sure the new case has holes in the right spots for my mobo USB ports. is that right?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

just buy a firewire pci card, they come dirt cheap if u find em on
<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714

yep and a couple of cards also come with usb 2.0 if you already dont have that

<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
Avatar - Infiniti G35
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.