firewire header - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 06:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default firewire header

Hi
I have a gigabyte 81875 Ultra motherboard, it has a IEEE 1394 control chip and two IEEE 1394 headers(?) but does not seem to have any firewire ports. do i just need to get some cables/adaptors which would enable me to connect firewire devices to my motherboard or do i need to get a firewire card?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

You could get a firewire card which would then be connected to the headers on your motherboard, or you could get a case that has integrated firewire ports and attatch those wires to the headers. Either way would work...
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 07:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah your computer has to have the port in the back like usb ports, and then you gotta think to yourself, well how do those usb ports get power? They are hooked to the USB headers. Same principle follows here.
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

if i get a new case which has firewire ports, how will i connect the ports on the case to the headers on the mobo?
would the case come with the connecting wires.

i did not have USB headers but USB ports on the mobo, and these stick out of the case(there were holes on the case to allow the USB ports to come out). i am now wondering what happens when i get a case with USB ports, i guess the USB ports of the case are gonna remain unconnected, and i would also have to make sure the new case has holes in the right spots for my mobo USB ports. is that right?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

just buy a firewire pci card, they come dirt cheap if u find em on newegg.com.
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

yep and a couple of cards also come with usb 2.0 if you already dont have that
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.