Firewire card troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default Firewire card troubles

I've got a generic brand PCI firewire card in my system. I mostly use it for occasional video capture through an AVS Pyro A/V Link box. I always turn the AVS box off when I'm not using it, so there's not many time that the firewire card is in use.

Recently when I turn on the AVS I'm getting a device error (in device manager) saying that the firewire card cannot be started. I've tried everything I can think of to restart it....disabling and reenabling, uninstalling the card and scanning for changes and letting it reinstall, uninstalling and rebooting and letting it install...it always shows up with an error in device manager saying it cannot start.

The only thing I've found that works is opening the case, removing the card and reseating it. the 3 times it's done this, I've been able to get it working by doing this.....it's just a pain in the butt to have to completely unhook my CPU and open it up to fix this.

Anyone have a suggestion of what could be wrong or a possible fix? I know a new card is easy enough, but the card works fine when it will start up, and it doesn't foul up every time I plug something in.....just when it's been unused for a long period of time.
__________________

canooten is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Default

Have you tried seating it in a different PCI slot?
__________________

__________________
http://www.eraserinc.com/ims/pic.php?u=5VNS3T&i=103
Advanced Geeks - Advanced Technology Forums.
Have a technical question that no one here has an answer to? Ask certified professionals! Try us out!
We need your help!
AdvancedGeeks.com requires knowledgable mods and users to help handle a variety of tasks. PM me for more info.
caseyc is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 276
Default

Yeah, the first time it fouled up, I moved it to another slot.
canooten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.