Finally have dual monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2016, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Finally have dual monitors

I have them set up like I want them and so far so good. But I'm wondering if there's a way to have a different background on each one. The TV/monitor is on HDMI while the other monitor only is on DVI. If that makes any difference.

I did notice the vid card temp rose around 7 degs F. I figure that's the extra work load. I'll give the fan a little increase when I get the Nvidia Precision X software installed. No big there.

What would be nice is if monitor makers would make it so you could take off the left or right bezel and butt the screens together like one big screen. Right now I have a good 1 1/2" in between them.
__________________

setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 10:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Finally have dual monitors

What OS are you on? Win7 you'll need extra software like DisplayFusion.

Win8.1 has it natively built-in, and Win10 has it "hidden" at the moment.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 10:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: Finally have dual monitors

Sorry. The OS is w7 pro and the card is Nvidia GTX650ti.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Finally have dual monitors

Here's an open source / free solution:
Dual Monitor Tools - Home
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 01:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: Finally have dual monitors

That one works great. Thanks.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How relevant is it to have matching LCD monitors for dual screen? Jayce Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-06-2011 09:02 AM
Dual graphics cards-dual monitors Tik172 System Upgrades 6 07-18-2009 12:28 PM
Finally...finally a mid-range card Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 13 10-30-2007 04:38 AM
LG monitors vs Samsung monitors OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-04-2007 07:44 PM
dual monitors, dual backgrounds? russ_cell Computer Audio and Multimedia 5 03-01-2004 08:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.