Finally got my new PC, but having problems. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2004, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to eaapops
Default Finally got my new PC, but having problems.

I posted about a week ago asking for help in building a PC. I got a lot of nice info and finally placed my order. The parts arrived last night and me and a friend started putting everything together. It is doing ok while browsing the internet, but I bough it for gaming, and none of my games will work, always a different error message.

I know nothing about hardware but he is good with PC's, but he had never put in a motherboard before. It seemed fine but none of the motherboard drivers will install. I am using a

When I look at the device manager, the drivers that aren't installed are:

PCI Ethernet Controller
PCI Multimedia Audio Device
PCI Multimedia Audio Device
PCI Raid Controller
PCI System Management Bus

Also when he was putting everything in, he said that the motherboard came with a lot of extra cables and wires, that he didn't even need for the motherboard. He said he saw none of those wires or cables on my old motherboard. Now this seemed like a problem to me, I thought those wires were in the box for a reason, but oh well.

I also get an error message when I startup:

Unable to load SIISUPP.VXD

And that message comes up three times in a row.

I also got a new processor, power supply, and two sticks of ram, but we think the mobo has a lot to do with this. Sorry for the long post but this is making me miserable. Please help me fix my early christmas present!

eaapops is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 04:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 128
Send a message via ICQ to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via AIM to Smokin-A.I. Send a message via Yahoo to Smokin-A.I.

there is a lot of info that you didnt give , and is needed to say waht may be in your bios is your internal audio on ? if it is and you are using external (s.b. live ) you will have an error in the pci audio device and the drivers wont load up, looks like most of your errors may be in the bios setup and because of this you will have trouble in loading propper drivers for your mobo and windows. just to mention a few. check your bios settings and use the default ones to see if you can get it running and loading also you ma have to reinstall windows again.?

if its not artifical intelligence, why have it?
Smokin-A.I. is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Are you using a SATA drive or did you install XP on a SATA drive? Are you using a RAID setup?

Disable RAID in your BIOS, maybe it helps.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

Use the Motherboard CD to install the Devices / PCI Ethernet Controler/ Onboard Sound (if your using the onboard sound )(If your using a PCI Sound Card disable the onboard in BIOS)Use the CD to install the Chipset Drivers i think all AMD`s use the 4in1 Driver Package. If your not using RAID Disable in bios.
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 05:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3

Need more info>
Processor ?
Hard Drive (Type, Size, How Many)
Operating System (WinXP,2000,98, Linux)

Let us know so we can help!
vantim is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 10:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to eaapops

My processor is

Not sure what type of hard drive I have, I know it is 40gb

And I use windows 98

I have tried turning off raid, I have reformatted 3 times, installed a bunch of drivers for it.

eaapops is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.