Final Upgrade Plans - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Final Upgrade Plans

Here are the parts I've decided on for my upgrade:

CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (Venice)
RAM- 512 MB Corsiar XMS
Motherboard- Gigabyte GA-K8NS-939

I already have some Arctic Silver 5, and am not planning to overclock at all. Man I can't wait!
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Lookin good
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I would recommend simply sticking with value RAM but as I see you already have some XMS I see your reasons for getting it.

I really would recommend a DFI Ultra-D though, perhaps a bit more expensive than the Gigabyte and although you have said you don't want to overclock, I almost gurantee you with a Venice core under your belt you may find yourself wanting to experiment in the future.

DFI also simply has excellent support forums and will most likely give you a lot less trouble than any other board.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Yeah, I'm getting the XMS because I already have it and it'll only be $62.

I can't get the DFI Ultra-D, I have an AGP 6800GT. I'm getting kind of impatient and don't want to wait for the new DFI board, and I don't want to spend the money on an MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum. Do you have another mobo suggestion perhaps?
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:04 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

abit AV8

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127181
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
abit AV8
Yeah man, I've been going back and forth on the Gigabyte and that Abit. I've heard really good things about the AV8, so I might indeed end up going with that.
__________________

__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.