final setup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default final setup

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...170-020&DEPA=1 - case - 59.00

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...136-152&depa=1 - motherboard - 133

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...148-069&depa=1 - hard drive - 125 (ill probably get a different one from like circuit city for cheaper)

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-514&depa=1 processor - 268 - free flash drive (128mb)

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-098&depa=1 - video card - 176

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...144-114&depa=1 - RAM - 199 (x2 at later date)

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...136-047&DEPA=1 - Drive 1 - 68

http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...106-569&DEPA=1 - Drive 2 - 30.99

----------------------------------------------

i am gonna start ordering things but just thought i should ask if everything looks ok and if its all 100% compatible.

also what does SLI mean and is it on my video card
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

looks good, nice comp... sli is when two nvidia cards are bridged together to perform double the power....get more info at www.nvidia.com

EDIT: http://www.slizone.com/content/slizone/build.html
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

And another thing: the vid card is chaintech. chaintech stuff generally aint that good. get an EVGA one. the case also comes with a PSU that is probably crap. get a quality PSU from Antec, OCZ, or thermaltake and ull have a much better system.

looks nice though that case looks REALLY nice!
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 08:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

ok thx, btw, later on will it actually slow down my computer if i add two more 512mb dimms for RAM>?
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

It might for some apps...i dont really know that much about it. just make sure ur mobo can handle 4 dimms, some cant, only single sided RAM
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

I'd suggest getting at least a 480W power supply.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

is it worth spending an extra 51 dollars for the SLI compatible motherboard?
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 09:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-517&depa=0

or how about this motherboard

then eventually i could set up raid 5
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 10:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

also will http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/Weste...oductDetail.do << that work with the asus motherboard that i posted above?
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 06:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

it should, ive never heard of a hard drive being uncompatible with any mobo. Just plug the power connector into it, and plug the flat cable into the mobo.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.