final opinions - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 11:19 PM   #21 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

well w/e, i made the order, shoulda done a lil more research on the mobo, sadly, that model has a problem with an overheating southbridge, i got some thermal adheasive and some heatsinks and fans for it, so its good. well, this is what it said on newegg.

Ship date
12/28/2006 18:03:02
Estimated delivery
12/29/2006

i seriously doubt its going to be here tomorrow, id guess on saturday (if they deliver on weekends) or if not, monday (knowing my luck, i might as well just go to my freinds house tomorrow and stay home on monday)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 06:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

k everything just came in the mail, 2 reinstalls, 15bluescreens later, its running good now, had a little bit of a hard time installing the chipset drivers. do i also have to install the amd 64 whatever processor driver?

well, ill be back in like 2 hours, im gonna do the one thing that made me get this computer. im going to play halo.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:28 PM   #23 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
well, ill be back in like 2 hours, im gonna do the one thing that made me get this computer. im going to play halo.

You're gonna play Halo with 256MB RAM?

I'm not a genius at gaming, as a matter of fact, I'm a dummy at gaming, but don't you need alot of RAM for gaming? BTW your motherboard's graphics chipset is better than your video card. The motherboard has a 256MB Geforce 6100, you have a 64MB MX4000.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:52 PM   #24 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

...umm, i got a 128. it runs good. weird thing tho, might be related to ram, when i put the system under alot of stress, (well, searching for music in wmp, unraring files, copying files, etc) i get a bluescreen saying MACHINE_CHECK_EXCEPTION.

just googled it, and hes got the same problem as me. anytime i read the secondary hdd on the primary channel, it freezes and bsod's.

ive heard that disabling dma on it and setting it to pio mode fixes it. im going to try that right now, ill be back with an update.


EDIT: k pio mode fixes it, no more blue screens!!! YAY, lol. well i ran 3dmark on the onboard and on the mx4000, and the 4000 made 3963, and the onboard made 3647. so i would say that the mx4000, even tho it has lower numbers, it is better for the game (tho the onboard has more features)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 12:44 AM   #25 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

great...mobo died. was just sitting there and plugged my new zune into the back of the computer so i could copy some of my new music to it, and it shut off. will turn on, will not turn off. everything spins, hdd light is solid, powerlight is off. dont know what it is, so ****in ****ed off i cant even think.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 07:18 PM   #26 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Did you buy any warranties? It must come with some kind of warranty, like 30 days or something, ship it back and get your money back.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 09:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yea, 1 year from manufacturer, 30 day for newegg replacement / refund. iits currently getting sent there, but because its newyears weekend, its not getting sent there until tuesday of next week. so i should end up getting it by the 12 of january. brilliant.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 10:13 PM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

You shouldn't have upgraded your PC.

Better having an old and stable PC than the opposite.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 05:19 AM   #29 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

im back on it, still runnin, just recorded my freind smashing a chair with a webcam...pretty funny. and i didnt upgrade, i just completely built a new pc, just stole the 80gb hdd from it for the os and everything elst (plus it was ata133)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 01-01-2007, 04:25 PM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

My computer was good, but now it's really starting to lag when I watch movies and load up WMP. Maybe I have a virus, i dunno?

Your computer is probably faster than mine. Maybe they lied and I have a Sempron 3500?
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.