Final Choice - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2005, 12:00 AM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

I'd rather have tough choices and know that my computer runs well.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:03 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

P.s. I am to wish that it has intergrated video because I have no PCI express vid. card.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:04 AM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

uh i meant that the DFI board is the best PERIOD

your computer will run best with them, since they're designed well and use high quality stuff (such as japanese capacitors)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:19 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

ok then If I was to go like that I would need a vid card so would a regular PCI card work like the cheapest one there is?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 12:49 AM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea a regular cheap pci would work
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:24 AM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Would it have to be PCI express or would this work http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814130217
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:29 AM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yes, regular PCI works
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:37 AM   #28 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

aright sorry I'm lazy haven't read whats been said

Get a 3200+ venice not a 3500+, it'll overclock to generally 2.8GHz on air and not necessarily stock voltage, but still low voltage and cool temps.

$100 for a good OC'ing motherboard is WAY too cheap, don't skimp out on this, this is after all the MOTHER board, which denotes it kind of handles your whole system.

You'd be good with a DFI Ultra-D

These boards have 2 PCI-E slots and a few PCI slots, so as been said yes a normal PCI card will work but as I'm sure you're aware of PCI cards suck

Patriot XBL ram is a good set of TCCD RAM that will overclock nicely and isn't quite as expensive as some other things like GSkill LA's but I heard the OCZ Platinum Rev 2's are sitting at $199

These:
http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820218062

can OC too and are quite cheap, but need a lot of voltage which the DFI Ultra-D board will have no problem giving since it can give up to 4v, but really anything beyond 3.7 doesn't make a difference and when running that high voltage you DEFINITELY have to have a fan blowing on the RAM.

I wouldn't suggest quite going that high for every day use though. 3.3 would be enough for nice OC's while remaining fairly cool but I'd still use a fan.

Yeah that's about it
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:27 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

yea if I get the ultra which I have no problem with because I did all my budgeting off that but it has no intergrated video and I'm low on money and then I would need a CHEAP video card just to see. unless if anyone has a spare one they can give. but I guess I'll order the ultra.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 10:29 AM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Also I was going to get the 3200+ but now I might have to go without the Zalman heatsink for a while and go get the stock.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.