Final Choice - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 09:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Final Choice

OK well after serious states of confusion I'm asking you guys to pull through with this 1 more time. I Finally decided to wait and save up well I need to know a good pci-express Motherboard socket 939 for about 100.00 USD and I'm going to get the Venice core 3500 + soket 939 with a zalman Heatsink and I was wondering what is a good mobo. Also is it true that it can overclock up to 1.0 GHZ on stock vcore. So it'll be at 3.0 GHZ how much would that be Intel wise. I really glad I found this site and thankyou guys for not getting Pissed off at all my posts.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

3.0ghz is faster than the FX-55...intel processors really cant go that high on stock speeds. me thinks about p4 4.0-4.2 ghz would be equivalent to a 3.0ghz venice.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

alright thank you but do you know anything about my Mobo dilemma?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dhw200
3.0ghz is faster than the FX-55...intel processors really cant go that high on stock speeds. me thinks about p4 4.0-4.2 ghz would be equivalent to a 3.0ghz venice.
Your far off, you need a non exitant cpu like a 5.0ghz to beat it out really
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yea I was about to say isn't it like a 4.0 to beat out the fx-55 My best guess is about a 4.3 or so
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

an intel can't beat a FX-55 (2.8ghz) in fps until reaching 5.5ghz i think

also, the best (and only) choice would be the DFI lanparty ultra-d

out of the box (only with good ram), it can reach a 1ghz OC easily (not sure if this can be done on stock voltage, but on g skill LA's, i wouldn't doubt it

AMD > intel anyday (coming from an amd fanboy that hasn't used anything but amd since the 200mhz days)

what ram are you gonna use?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

once I get the money I was thinking about twinmos 1 GB which I heard was awsome that Nubius posted that 512 x2 pack 101 USD Or some OCZ 512
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, if you're on a tight budget, then probably either the twinmos or 512 OCZ rev2's will be best
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

well what do you think is the best if I got up to 200 USD?
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 09:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

About the CPU, you should be able to get it to higher speeds easily on stock cooling and Vcore, maybe not a full Ghz but maybe .5 or .6 Ghz wit stock vcore.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.