File Transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 10:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default File Transfer

I just got access to windows vista, but I have to move it from a laptop to a desktop, since it’s such a large file I didn’t know how I could move it. I tired splitting it up and burning it onto CD's but there were problems and it didn’t work. Anyone know what i could do?
__________________

duncan986 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i would imagine burning a DVD seeing as that is the idea of the disc image. it is supposed to be burned to a DVD. failing that you could use a simple FTP server and FTP client to transfer with a network cable or even simpler would be using windows file sharing.

i am going to assume you joined the MSDN to obtain Vista. just know that you can't ask any questions relating to piracy, circumventing WPA or serial keys.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 12:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

Are both comptuers on a LAN or wireless network of some kind?
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

Vista Beta 2 is a free download from Microsoft right now. I too was faced with the challenge of moving a several gig image from the upstairs family computer to my personal testing computer downstairs, and then installing it (I don't have a DVD burner either). The downstairs computer had 2 hard drives, and one had XP on it, so I just moved the image over the network to the XP side of the downstairs computer, then installed [free] daemon tools (which will emulate a drive with an image), then installed it from the XP side over to the second hard drive. If you're limited to one hard drive, this could be accomplished with a 3 gig XP partition, and a (remainder of hard drive) Vista partition. You might be able to do it all in one partition, but I don't know if that would work out. By the way, Daemon tools is amazingly helpful for many purposes, but when installing it, make sure that you uncheck the 'install whatever toolbar to launch targeted ads' button. Don't worry though, if you uncheck that (and it's blatently labeled), it won't load the toolbar (or any other adware) onto your computer.

-:-Mitchell
MrFortissimo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.