File Transfer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2006, 09:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 20
Default File Transfer

I just got access to windows vista, but I have to move it from a laptop to a desktop, since it’s such a large file I didn’t know how I could move it. I tired splitting it up and burning it onto CD's but there were problems and it didn’t work. Anyone know what i could do?

duncan986 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 10:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

i would imagine burning a DVD seeing as that is the idea of the disc image. it is supposed to be burned to a DVD. failing that you could use a simple FTP server and FTP client to transfer with a network cable or even simpler would be using windows file sharing.

i am going to assume you joined the MSDN to obtain Vista. just know that you can't ask any questions relating to piracy, circumventing WPA or serial keys.

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you dont think the guitar is cool, then youre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 11:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat

Are both comptuers on a LAN or wireless network of some kind?
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15

Vista Beta 2 is a free download from Microsoft right now. I too was faced with the challenge of moving a several gig image from the upstairs family computer to my personal testing computer downstairs, and then installing it (I don't have a DVD burner either). The downstairs computer had 2 hard drives, and one had XP on it, so I just moved the image over the network to the XP side of the downstairs computer, then installed [free] daemon tools (which will emulate a drive with an image), then installed it from the XP side over to the second hard drive. If you're limited to one hard drive, this could be accomplished with a 3 gig XP partition, and a (remainder of hard drive) Vista partition. You might be able to do it all in one partition, but I don't know if that would work out. By the way, Daemon tools is amazingly helpful for many purposes, but when installing it, make sure that you uncheck the 'install whatever toolbar to launch targeted ads' button. Don't worry though, if you uncheck that (and it's blatently labeled), it won't load the toolbar (or any other adware) onto your computer.

MrFortissimo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.