A few optical mouse questions... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2005, 10:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default A few optical mouse questions...

I made a few mistakes when I bought my computer, but my mouse was certainly not one of them. It's a 5 button intellimouse and I love it. So here are my questions:
1.)Does anyone know what DPI intellimice 1.1As run at?
2.)I would know it if my optical sensor got gummed up right? How does one go about cleaning them?
3.)How long do mice typically stay in production, in case I want to get a replacement or another one?
4.)Windows recognized the side buttons on my mouse with no special drivers and mapped them as Forward and Back. Now I can't live without them. Do all mice with buttons obviosly for such purpose (like the logictech MX100 I think) allow such driver less configuration, even if the other buttons need drivers? I simply refuse to have special mouse drivers, so these buttons need to work "out of the box"
__________________

digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

1. I think it is 800dpi
2. I haven't heard of any optical mouse getting "gummed up"
3. it depends on the manufacturer
4. most mice can run with the generic drivers from Windows, but I thikn since you did get a Microsoft mouse, the drivers for your mouse would have already been included with Windows
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 02:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

2. By"gummed up" I mean the optical sensor being dirty. Lol, certainly not mechanically gummed up.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720
Default

1. www.google.com -> _exact mouse name_ dpi rate
2. Just CAREFULLY use a cotton swab.
3. Depends on manufacturer.
4. If there's software that came with it, install it, it can only enhance the performance of the mouse.
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-16-2005, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Just got myself an $8 logitech the other day, has 400dpi and seems to move really smooth.
Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.