F'd Up? Bad CMOS clear? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 12:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default F'd Up? Bad CMOS clear?

I hope I didn't screw up my mobo.

I attempted to flash my bios on my Soltek EQ3704 (mainboard SL-B7C-FGR). The flash failed and after numerous recovery attempts I determined I needed to get a reprogrammed bios chip. Hopefully it will arrive tomorrow.

However that's not the source of my current neurosis.

During the process of trying to recover I reset my CMOS using the jumper. During one of my resets I accidentally left the jumper in the clear position before attempting to power on. The computer didn't power on, but I'm assuming it put power across my motherboard.

What's the likelihood I screwed it up? Am I going to need a new mobo now, or should I be ok and I'm just having a panic attack?

Thanks for the help.

Josh
__________________

ChlkDstTtr is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Well... if there was ANY shocks that went from the jumpers to the mobo then yes... its prolly screwed..


lol... http://www.newegg.com/ProductSort/Ca...sp?Category=20
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 01:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Static_11
Well... if there was ANY shocks that went from the jumpers to the mobo then yes... its prolly screwed..
What exactly do you mean by shocks? I know I didn't make contact with the motherboard from any of the pins, but I did leave the jumper on the "clear CMOS" setting. I also didn't move the jumper while the power was on.

Josh
ChlkDstTtr is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

what i meant by shocks is that if you had any static run from your body to the mobo, even a very small touch that you didnt relize, hit something vital on the mobo... its probably gone... anyone else??
Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 12:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Trying to power up your PC with the CMOS jumper in the clear position won't harm your motherboard or any component in your PC. It simply just won't start. No harm, No Foul.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 03:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the replies. I'll let you know how it turns out.

Josh
ChlkDstTtr is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Got my BIOS chip today from Badflash.com. Popped it in, cleared my CMOS, and started up. All I had to do was re-settup my BIOS and then everything was back to normal - plus it had the BIOS version I was trying to flash to.

Thanks for all the help and if you ever need to reprogram or get a new programmed BIOS chip I definitly recomment Badflash.com

Josh
__________________

ChlkDstTtr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.