Faulty Hard Drive According to Windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default Faulty Hard Drive According to Windows

I tried reformatting my computer the other day and half way through the format I got an error message telling me:

Unable to install Windows on this partition. The disk maybe damaged.

Fair enough I thought, the HDD is fairly old (although not rediculously old) so I got a nearly new HDD from another computer and tried reformatting that. Incidently, I did use the manufacturers disk checking utility and it told me my HDD was perfectly ok.

Imagine my suprise when Windows decided to announce:

Unable to install Windows on this partition. The disk maybe damaged!!!

This is crazy. I don't accept that 2 HDD's are faulty and my HDD manufacturer's disk utility seems to agree with me.

What could be the problem?

Could it be a Mobo problem or what?

Any advice you can offer is appreciated.
__________________

chrigil is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Try formating the drives in another machine. Replace IDE cables and try different channels
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Ahahaha I had that problem.

Were you reinstalling Windows when you formatted? It happened to me. Guess what the problem was? Damaged INSTALLATION CD. Take the CD to a shop and have it buffed if the CD is scratched up. If the CD is not scratched up, the likelyhood of two hard drives, one old and one new, is extremely low. Somes like another problem, I feel confidant that its just the CD, try to get another one if you can. Good Luck!
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default

Yea allways make a back up of your cd's :-p (hehehe)
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

How about using a boot disk to do the job? Avoid the Windows formatting utility and start the installation after formatting the drive with something else...

Additionally, disk checking and other hardware diagnostics utilities are not always accurate and can't be completely depended on, so there is still a chance of damage, and your best way to determine that is if another 'formatter' also can't do it.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
How about using a boot disk to do the job? Avoid the Windows formatting utility and start the installation after formatting the drive with something else...
Can you recommend a good utility for this sort of thing? I was using KillDisk to perform a Low Level format but was warned that a Low Level Format can seriously mess up my disk, permanently.

Any ideas?
chrigil is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 07:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Its always best to do a High Level Formatting, which is Logical Formatting. It creates NTFS if your using Windows XP. Do this for me first. Go into Windows XP Command line, and type the command CHKDSK on the hard drives your trying to get to work. If there is a bad sector, it will come up in the report..... I can't remember the switch you type with the command that causes it to automatically flag bad sectors so they aren't used. I'm on a MAC laptop (until my PC is fixed) so I can't check it.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 11:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

If all else fails, you can try to 'low level' format it. I know, you can only zero the drive and not low level format, since that is not done outside the factory, so dont bother saying anything about that.

http://seagate.com/support/disc/drivers/discwiz.html

Get the starter edition, make a bootdisk. Follow the instructinos. It will take a while, a LONG time, depending on the size of your drive. It took meabout 5 hours to do a 60 GB sata 7200rpm. But more often than not that gets a drive working when Windows kicks it out. It worked for me, so why not you?
__________________

Him is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.