Fat32 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2003, 03:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380
Default Fat32

I have a 4 GB hard drive (too small). In the Disk C Properties dialog box it says that it is a FAT 32 drive though I didnt format it as FAT32. Plus, I have reformat my drive several times yet it's still FAT 32. How can this be?

piggysmile is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 06:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 386
Send a message via ICQ to chesman Send a message via Yahoo to chesman

the drive is going to remain as FAT32 unless you format it as NTFS. FAT32 is the type of file allocation table that is on that disk.

What OS are you running? because only win2000 and XP can handle NTFS.

If you are running anything below you can only format as FAT32.

But having the HDD as FAT32 should not be a major problem. Is there a reason why you dont want it as FAT?

WinXP Pro
P4 2.5 Ghz/socket 478/400FSB/512L2
512 megs PC800 Rambus
ABIT TH7II-Raid mobo
128MB Nvidia FX 5200 Home Theatre w/TV out and Remote
80 Gig Western Digital/8mb Cache/7200 RPM\'s
20 gig Fujitsu/2mb Cache/5400 RPM\'s
48x40x48/16X Dvd/CD-Burner
chesman is offline  
Old 10-07-2003, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman

Good question. What OS are you trying to use? If it's anything under Win98 then you won't get to use the whole drive with fat16. If you want NTFS, then, as chesman said, you need Win NT, XP or 2000 to see it.

Lostman is offline  
Old 10-08-2003, 02:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 380

Im running WinME. Is it really natural?
piggysmile is offline  
Old 10-08-2003, 02:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

Win98/ME have been using FAT/FAT32 since the beginning.

I don't really know why you'd rather have FAT rather than FAT32 though...

Strongly recommended that you ditch it (WinME = pile of crap) and install Win2000 or XP to get NTFS support.
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934

i thought u had to have over 30 gig to format as nfts?
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 05:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

i don't think there is a storage size requirement for NTFS, but on very small hard disks fat 16 would be more efficient at saving space although not as stable as NTFS.

ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.