Fastwrites ???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Fastwrites ????

is it best for Nvidia cards like my 6800 to have Fastwrites off? and if it is, how much performance am i losing having it on?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 48
Send a message via AIM to Lintball
Default

uh...i understand that it gives you better performance...i can't say by how much but maybe if i tell you what it does it could give you better insight..idk....but anyways with fastwrites on it allows your cpu to send info directly to your gpu with using up system memory...but i guess that isn't necessarily a good thing in all cases...
__________________

Lintball is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

well, i think i remember someone saying that for Nvidia cards, its best to leave it off, and for ATI cards to leave it on, or vise-versa. i'm not sure and thats why i created this thread.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.