Fastwrite - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2004, 12:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Fastwrite

What purpose does this serve? Does it matter if it is on or off? By default both my video card and my bios have it on? What does this mean? Thanks for the help.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 424
Default

yes i was also wondering this becuase in my bios faswrite is diabled
__________________

raiden_nrl is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 12:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I tried turning fastwrite off one time and it drastically decreased my Doom 3 performance.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 01:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Hmm. Just for kicks I went into my bios and changed everything back to the default settings, and fastwrite is enabled. Some people say to disable it, what is the purpose?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 03:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Simply put, when ON, fastwrite will not verify data on the AGP bus therefore a performance increase might be noticed. However, many chipsets, namely the older ones have problems with this instruction and it may cause system instability. From tomshardware article, an increase of 10% has been noticed. If you do not notice any system instability, enable it, otherwise, leave it off.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-24-2004, 10:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Thanks, that helps.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.