Fastra GPU Super Pc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2008, 08:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Fastra GPU Super Pc

This thing is crazy, if it ran The Nvidia GPU client it could pull 40,000ppd!!




FASTRA

FASTRA
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Fastra GPU Super Pc

yea but what would you really want to use it for extra for what they are using?

and i thought sli only went up to 4 GPU's?
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Fastra GPU Super Pc

Its a Crossfire board, and they put 4 9800gx2's, with Folding it doesn't support SLI or Crossfire, so it'll still let you boot if you don't have the bridges on

FASTRA

Specs ^^
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Fastra GPU Super Pc

so with folding you can use as many GPU's as you can without the bridges? that's interesting...

pretty cool. The guy in the video did kinda sound a bit stupid...well, not stupid. He just kinda went on about stuff that seems to be common sense...like a GPU would process graphic type stuff better.

EDIT: btw, wouldn't the cards get kinda hot with the fans being covered?
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Fastra GPU Super Pc

Not just folding, anything CUDA.

CUDA doesnt require SLI/Crossfire...the gpu's work independent of each other, side by side actually.

So any board with 4 pci-e slots double spaced can run those.

Also, id like to note that this is a Phenom powered rig, and it was much cheaper to go the AMD route. I was suprised myself, thought it would have been Intel.

Yeah, it gets very hot which is why they used such a large tower and keep the side panel off.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Fastra GPU Super Pc

That rig is sick. 4x9800GX2. That makes for 8 GPU's in that thing. What could you possibly want to run other than F@H on there? Nothing requires that amount of GPU power. Just sick....
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 08:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Fastra GPU Super Pc

yea i questioned the AMD thing at first but they said something about the mobo they found that had 4 PCI-E and was double spaced was an AMD board....so that's probably why they went AMD
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding@Home NVIDIA GPU Client Confirmed maroon1 New Technology and Products 2 05-26-2008 11:10 AM
Wtb: Super Bad Pci-e X16 Gpu andrewsvalesen Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 0 11-20-2007 01:22 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.