Faster processor make a game load faster? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2004, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default Faster processor make a game load faster?

How would a Faster processor make a game load faster? Doesn't all the data just need to be loaded from the hard drive into RAM and then processed once the level starts up? The only way I could think that the processor would need to process anytime of the loading is if it needs to uncompress data so it can be used.
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 10:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 132
Default

it would not increase a lot, a hard drive upgrade will help a lot more. I'm not talking about a bigger hard drive, but a fasrter one, look into the Western Digital Raptor, the fastest hdds available to us. A processor upgrade will only help if you are using a pentium 2 and a modern (7200rpm) hard drive, then it would help a little, however upgrading to a raptor would help more then also. More ram also helps, but again thats more during game play.
__________________

SewerBeing is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 10:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

fastest hard drives are scsi sorry to say. 15000 rpm. more ram would be generally a better idea before a hard drive. the more stuff that can be processed on the memory the better. because the hard drive is a lot slower
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 11:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Actually... On the contrary... The Raptors beat SCSI in many different tests!
ag3 is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 12:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mrzeeedler
fastest hard drives are scsi sorry to say. 15000 rpm. more ram would be generally a better idea before a hard drive. the more stuff that can be processed on the memory the better. because the hard drive is a lot slower

Not just a higher capacity RAM, but faster as well...
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 12:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 132
Default

A, please note I said "to us". Also ram doesnt help much when loading, trust me I've seen the before and after results when I upgraded to a raptor. Also agex000 is correct, the raptor does beat scsi drives in a lot of tests. Check the reviews if you dont trust me.
SewerBeing is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 01:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

seagate cheetah 2.6ms seek time
wd raptor 4.5ms seek time

i could not find any benchmarks i want to know which is better because when i do video editing computer its one ot the other
__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 08:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

I thought only larger n faster Ram can decrease loading time.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 08:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 121
Default

How about the various static forms of ram? Surely they'd be faster than any hard disk?
Not that they'd be much good though seeing they don't have a lot of storage space relative to hard disks..
Cogwork is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 04:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

The amount of RAM and the type of RAM should be yoru primary concern if you want to improve the loading time of your applications/games. HDD is secondary.
__________________

Lone Wolf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.