Faster memory or More memory? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2005, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default Faster memory or More memory?

Which of these two systems would be better?

AMD Athlon XP2500+ 1.83GHz FSB333
1.5GB DDR333 memory (ignore the details )

OR

AMD Athlon XP2500+ Overclocked to 2.2GHz FSB400
1.0GB DDR400 memory

I have just ordered 2 sticks of 512MB DDR400 memory, but I currently have a stick of 512MB DDR333 - I have 2 options, I can have 1.5GB DDR333 memory, or 1.0GB DDR400 memory.

Overclocking the CPU is not a problem.

If I were to play games like Doom 3 and Unreal Tournament 2004 then which configuration would be best?
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Are they in dual channel?

Do the second one up. FSB is all bumped up, and most things you use prolly wont even use more than 1gb memory.
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

I don't have Doom 3 or UT4. And I highly doubt people who have Doom 3 on the h/w forum (maybe with a couple of notable exceptions) have actually tried the 2 configurations.

"Hypothetically speaking", the faster RAM would be better if the hard drive accesses are not increased significantly due to its lower capacity. Similarly, the slower RAM might be faster if that extra 1/2 Gig allows the 3xDDR333 to hit the HDD significantly less due to it's capability to store more "stuff" in its RAM than the 2xDDR400. Of course, this really depends on the application - in this case Doom 3 and UT4.

You are in a unique position to actually try this out and tell us about the benchmark . So why don't u just try both of em and see?. That'll give u a better and more reliable view than any estimate given by anyone.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

System 2 will be alot faster and much better peformance
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I would have thought system 2 would be better, I suppose I could just slot the other stick in if I am playing MMORPG's that require a lot of RAM, like WoW or Horizons.

The graphics card at the moment slows everything down, that will be my next upgrade.

Thanks for your opinions.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 05-10-2005, 10:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Well for "Doom 3 and UT2004", system 2 will probably get my vote. My new system I am building will have 1GB 2xDDR400 also obviously. But, u have the opportunity to check it explicitly in less than 20 minutes .. That's why I pointed out "how" and when the 3xDDR333 might actually be superior.

If whatever application you are running requires a lot of RAM, it will have to hit the HDD. That will slow ur system down quite a lot. Take it from me. I run a lot of signal processing apps on my computer. And I usually reach a threshold where the system bogs down "very noticeably" (and I mean drastically!). I am sure Doom 3 and UT4 is not as intensive as in this respect, but it's still good to be aware of such issues. Having "faster" memory but less of it is not always better.

But, your question has to do with Doom 3 and UT2004 and not Signal processing applications . While system 2 is most likely (99% sure) is the better system for these applcations, you can easily verify if this is true. Takes very little effort. And it'll give you the actual numbers. That's why I said, what I said..
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.