Is it faster to install OS on small partition (10GB, for ex)? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2005, 01:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default Is it faster to install OS on small partition (10GB, for ex)?

Hi,
I had an old P3 598 mhz copmuter which was driving me nuts! It was very slow and it took ages to open anything (Microsoft World, Encarta...) so I got a new one; P4 1.7 GHZ and got an 80 GB Hard Disk

My question is is it recomended (or is it faster) if I install the OS (XP Pro) on a small partition of the 80 GB hdd (10GB, for example) and while running the comuter, install everything else (programs, office 2003...) on the remaining partition (70 GB for example)

I know that 1.7 GHz is not the best nor the fastest...and besides, I only have 128MB of Ram...

So if it doesnt make a difference, then I'll only make 1 partition (the whole 80 GB) and install the OS and all other programs/software on the same partition.

Thank You in advance
__________________

Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 02:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

No it shouldn't make a difference. If you defragment it regularly you should be able to keep it running well.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

Thank you for your reply

so what you're saying is that if install everything on the same partition and leave it as is (80 GB) it will be the same if I installed the OS on a 10 or 20 GB and all other programs on the other partition?

I am afraid that the copmuter will slow down and launching programs/startup will take a lot of time

What is Defragmenting btw, never tried it and never knew the need to do it?

thank you again
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 04:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 35
Default

I agree with m3trj it won't make a difference, just keep defragment it! If you are worried about it running slow buy some more RAM in my experience XP don't work too good with out at least 256MB of RAM and it is very cheap.
dave-1969 is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 04:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

agreed the only way to have ur OS run faster is puttin it on a different physical disk. Also i agree with dave-1969 128 is terrible for xp u will notice the biggest difference by gettin more ram i would get at least a stick of 512mb then u will have ur programs opening alot quicker. u can pick up a stick very cheaply, be it oem unheard of make or value ram from kingston or corsiar or sum1 like that.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 06:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's the RPM of the 10GB drive?
most current drives are 7200RPM, some 10k RPM but older ones (like 15GB and below) are usually 5400RPM
if it is 5400RPM, it would slow down the system to have your OS on this drive
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 06:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

he is making a partition not having 2 drives...
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-05-2005, 06:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

my bad.....
having 2 partitions will at times make the drive slower, and at times faster.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2005, 03:33 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

so the best thing to do is install everything on 1 partition...

and about the RAMs, if I buy a 128 or 256 mb stick, would in improve performance alot? What is the best RAM to buy, SD RAM or DD ram? (whats the difference??) and how do I check what my RAM is and if it is compatible with the one I want to buy? or they all work with each other??

What do you think is better and will give me greater increase in performance;

if I buy a 128 or 256mb ram (so ill have 128 + 256 or 128+128)

and what is better, if i buy 512 mb ram or upgrade from P4 1.7GHz to lets say 2.4 or 2.8 GHZ?


Thank you again
__________________

Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.