Which is faster? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2005, 01:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

All the maxtors I had died. I still have all my WD though!!
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 01:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Maxtors are known to die out quickly. On my ol' p3 450mhz I had to replace it after a year - with another maxtor (it's what they sent us) but the new maxtor is going strong, but is load, very load. Sounds like a car going over gravel.

That was a old one, but they are still known to be unreliable. They are not any cheaper either.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Calzinger
This NCQ garbage on the Seagate's is supposed to really increase the performance and speed of your drive. Comparing it to the old 7200 rpm on my Dell, it was nearly 75% quicker, but then again, how fast could that ol' Dell possibly be.

I would have to suggest Seagate with NCQ (Native Command Queue. You can find out more at the Seagate website, but in a nutshell, it's supposed to handle the drive more dynamically when working with it, resulting in faster access. For the 300GB 7200RPM NCQ Seagate I have, I have to say, I didn't notice a difference in loading Far Cry between me and my cousin who has a 10000RPM Raptor.
I do believe that your SATA controller must support NCQ as well as the drive to make use of it however.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Have owned Seagate and WD drives entire time. Seagates in SCSI, WD's in SATA, and both in IDE. No failures at all, don't plan on touching a maxtor.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 06-30-2005, 02:29 PM   #15 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by m3trj
I do believe that your SATA controller must support NCQ as well as the drive to make use of it however.
I know my drive does, but I'm assuming that my SATA controller does as well.
__________________

__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.