Fast-Writes and ATI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2005, 05:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default Fast-Writes and ATI

what exactly are "Fast-Writes" i think i have an idea,(the VRAM can communicate with the hard-drive without going through the CPU or RAM) but i'm probably wrong. all i know is that it made my old GeForce FX 5200 Ultra run 3d games like a bad slide show. what will it do to my 9500 Pro? slow it down like my old 5200? or not do anything at all? should it be on or off?
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

you should have fast writes ON only if you have less than 512mb of system RAM. otherwise it's ok to leave fast writes OFF if you have at least that much or more.

your 9500 should run 3d games better than your 5200 did..so just make sure you've fully uninstalled your nVidia drivers BEFORE installing your ATI drivers.
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 03-26-2005, 07:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

but since i have 512MB, would i get better performance if i leave it on?
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
but since i have 512MB, would i get better performance if i leave it on?
if your video card has at least 128mb, and your system has 512mb it's actually better to have it OFF, so your card can take most of the stress, instead of the whole system trying to run it....

people tend to leave fast writes ON only if the rest of their system doesn't have enough "juice" or low memory on thier vid-card to run an intense game.

you should be fine to leave your fast writes OFF. it's more of a memory allocation issue than actual 3d video process.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Yeah, i get a slight improvement after turning it off. I am so glad this thread got started, I have always wondered this.

Doom 3 still running like crap though...
beedubaya is offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

yeah, all in know is that when i had 768MB of DDR with my 5200 Ultra, when ever i turn fastwrites on, it made my video card super slow
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.