Failure to load operating system - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2004, 09:24 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default

I have an Athon XP 1900. In the old setup I was running Win XP, so I know that the processor is capable of running XP.

Atirage, did you have the exact problem I do?

Killians, do the mobo drivers go into a special place in the win install? Or do I find that at the mobo manufacturer's site?

thanks all!
__________________

ebolaosu is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:31 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

actually, before ANY of that... and damn, wish I'd thought of this earlier, but MAKE sure (on the back of the HDD) that it is selected for CS and not master. You want cable select. This will cause an endless loop.(Other things to try, remove the cd, change the boot order, disable virus scan in bios so the MBR can be writen) then mess with the MB drivers
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:40 PM   #23 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Anyhow, if you're drives are not using an integrated
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:41 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Sorry, scratch what I was gonna say... this guy on another forum put it SOOOO much better than I could! I'll copy and paste!

*************************************************

Similar problems are usually caused by a incompatible or unsupported (At least out of the box) disk controller. If your friend's system uses a SCSI, RAID or UDMA disk controller instead of the regular IDE channels, then this could be your problem.

You may also want to make sure "BIOS shadowing" and "virus protection" are turned off in your BIOS if such options exist.


If you think your friend may have an integrated UDMA controller, but aren't sure, you will probably notice on bootup that the hard drive(s) are not listed in the initial post of the BIOS screen. Instead, they may appear later on a seperate screen. Disk controllers have their own "BIOS" and work independantly of the motherboard.

If that doesn't make sense (I'm not very good at explaining things sometimes), then find out from your manufacturer's website or your motherboard manual on whether you or not you have a seperate UDMA disk controller.

If do have a integrated/internal disk controller, then you will need to get the most recent Windows XP drivers for it. You can usually do this at your computer manufacturer's website (store-bought PC) or the manufacturer of the disk controller's website (homemade PC).

What you will need to do is download the newest controller drivers for Windows XP.. Then place the drivers on a floppy disk. (Do not place the files in a folder on the floppy disk (Bad Example - A:\drivers\driver.cat). You will want to make sure all the files are accessible on the root of A:\ (Good example: A:\driver.cat).

When you try to install Windows XP again, near the beginning of the blue pre-installation process, you'll see a message that pops up that says something like this, "To install third party SCSI or RAID devices, press F6". You will want to press F6 here and wait a minute or two for it to do its thing.

Pop in your floppy disk when it asks for it and follow the steps it gives you. "s" specifiies a device and "Enter" basically says, "Okay". You'll need to specify two devices (usualy) since there are often two UDMA controller channels... Then continue with the installation as usual. It should work.....


If you don't have a special disk controller, then ignore all that.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

also what is the LAST thing it does or says before rebooting... any errors or tells you to do anything ??? just cursious to know EXACTLY where this happens.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:55 PM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

and if NONE of the above works, when it asks you to press F6, instead press F7 to pick the hardware for the HAL... maybe having problems with some of the new hardware. Know there has been problems with some of the new NVidia, but usually its after installation and the work around is updated driver. However, if that the case you may want to use the above to circumvent or use some switches to bypass the HAL process. Do a search for that (bypass HAL on install). Never have done this, so couldn't tell you, but if you can check the install log, see whats causing the problem. If you can't, then I would guess its the NVidia chipset. Just bypass (or FORCE the HAL)... look that up online. Force HAL. Oh, thats Hardware Abstraction Layer.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-14-2004, 10:56 PM   #27 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

Oh yeah, to force HAL you press F5. The rest, I dont know.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 04-16-2004, 04:30 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default

wow. thanks Killians. I will try all that this weekend.

Thanks.
ebolaosu is offline  
Old 04-26-2004, 12:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Final update.

Well, the computer works. Yesterday I got a fresh install of XP onto a newly formatted drive and it works.

The fix you ask? A friend of mine was over and asked to see what was wrong. He watched, said, 'oh, I can fix that' and did. He went into the BIOS and turned off ACPI. Presto it worked. That was all it was, some power setting that was causing massive failures.

Thank you to everyone that helped me try to figure this out, particularly Killians. I really appreciate it.
ebolaosu is offline  
Old 05-29-2004, 03:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Gate: 3...."

Nice work....
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.