Extremely! slow comp, 15 min to startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2004, 11:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Exclamation Extremely! slow comp, 15 min to startup

I'm having trouble with my new machine. It takes about 15-20 minutes to start up, and is horribly sluggish when it finally gets going. CPU spikes, laggy video, you name it . . . it goes on all the time.

Now I do have Cydoor spyware on the comp and can't remove it. I've used Ad-Aware to no avail. The program deletes some files, but Cydoor starts at the next reboot.

Do you think it's all attributed to the Spyware or do you believe I may have a hardware problem?

Gigabyte 8IHXP motherboard
P4 Northwood 2.0Ghz
512MB Kingston RDRAM PC-800
GeForce 3 Ti 200
Artec DVD
40GB Western Digital HDD

Thanks in advance, I'm about to destroy this evil machine if I don't find something out.

bmalmquist is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter

reformat ur copmputer

YourPrinter is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527

Your going to have to reboot. Just put in your os install disc and choose install. Then reformat your hard drive when it ask you to pick a section to isntall to.
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
Default Completely clean reboot or can I install on a separate partition?

bmalmquist is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536

msconfig it and see what is up... If nothing, u have no choice... Reformat! And make sure that u install the following (if possible).:

Webroot Window Washer
Webroot Spy Sweeper
Registry Mechanic
Norton AntiVirus
Norton FireWall

No PC should be with out those apps, or somewhere among those lines.
ag3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.