External Storage Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2004, 08:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 27
Lightbulb @@External Storage Questions@@

I am looking to build an external storage drive but am not quite sure if I have all the correct/needed parts [I am a computer newbie]. Most important, I need to know if in fact the FDD Cable is needed. I have attached a link [at the bottom of this page] to the Storage Case for added info-- ....

FYI - the external storage drive will be used to back up my files as well as store my mp3 collection. My pc is not cmpatable for SATA drives..

Any suggestions/recommendations would be appreciated!!!!!

Hitachi 180GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drive, Model IC35L180AVV207, OEM
Capacity: 180GB
Average Seek Time: 8.5 ms
Buffer: 8MB
Rotational Speed: 7200 RPM
Interface: IDE ULTRA ATA100
Features: Fluid Dynamic Bearing (FDB) motor technology
Manufacturer Warranty: 3 years
Remark: OEM Drive Only

COOLMAX 3.5"/5.25" USB 2.0 External Enclosure, Model "CD-510B-U2" -RETAIL
Application: 3.5" / 5.25” CD-ROM / DVD / CD-RW / Hard Drive
Material: All aluminum Frame & Metal Tray
IDE Interface: IDE
Interface: USB 2.0
Power: PS2
Features: Up to 1TB
**W/ Cooling fan

BELKIN Gold Series USB2.0 Device Cable (A/B) Black Color, 6 feet -RETAIL
Featuring 24K gold plated connectors, which maximize conductivity and provide up to 480Mbps error-free, high performance transmission.
Hi-speed data transfer to 480Mbps
20-gauge high performance power wires ensure maximum
USB performance.
Belkin lifetime warranty.
Works with USB 2.0

Antec Cobra F16 Round FDD Cable

the case I would like to get is the 3rd one down

Assassin is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 08:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872

I don't see why u would need a FDD cable ..

All u would need is an USB cable ..since the interface is a USB2.0

Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 03:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 27


Thanks for your feedback!! I thought I would not need the FDD cable...But being a pc newbie I wasn't 100%.

Thanks again for your time and feedback, much appreciated!!!
Assassin is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 04:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558

I think that Preet2u is right. These aren't that hard to set up, just make sure that you're jumper setting on the hard drive are correct. That was my problem when I bought an external CD burner. Paid for it to be a USB model, and the company (don't even remember who) just sent me the burner, no USB case. They ended up sending me the USB case, and I had to put it together. Jumpers need to be set to master (check the owner's manual, that will tell you what you need to know).
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 02-10-2004, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 27


Thanks for the tip...I did a internet search for "jumpers" and came across a Western Digital page that describes in detail all about Jumpers. I had checked my manual and didn't see anything. But it looks like the WD page gives me all the details I need to know. Thanks for YOUR time and response to my post!!

Assassin is offline  
Closed Thread

« Help | bad ram????? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.