External SATA to SATA drive not working!!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2004, 11:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Default External SATA to SATA drive not working!!!!!

I have a seriously mother of a problems.

I received a 300GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SATA hard drive for christmas. I also got an external SATA to SATA drive enclosure and a SATA PCMCIA to make the complete package an external SATA hard drive.

After installing the hard drive inside the case, and installing the PCMCIA SATA card in my laptop, I plugged everything in, in hopes that I could use my 300GB right away.

The problem lies in that nothing happens when I attached the external enclosure to the SATA Card Bus. Windows detected the installation of the SATA Card Bus, but nothing happened when I attached the drive. After rebooting many times, and entering Windows Disk Management, nothing worked. It doesn't how up in Disk Management, BIOS, or Explorer.

All the parts are brand new. I have tried 2 different SATA data cables. I have updated my BIOS to the newest version as well as re-installing Windows XP in hopes that a clean install would resolve any unkown issues. I have even tried the entire package on another laptop, but it didn't work.

Are they any configurations I have to go through with Windows XP in order to use a SATA hard drive? I simply want to use for storage purposes.

My PC specs are:

IBM ThinkPad A31
Intel Pentium M Processor - 1.9Ghz
256 MB DDR Ram
30GB Internal Hard Drive
ATI Mobility Radeon 7500
Microsoft Windows XP Professional

The external enclosure is by Bytecc ME-720S and the Card Bus is by "Best Connectivity." However, the installation drivers say "Silicon Image SATA Link 3112."

I really want to get this SATA drive working. 300GB has been sitting on my table for the past few weeks and I am just itching to fill it up.


Thanks ALL!!!

NimeshPanchal84 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 09:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Desktop Engineer
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to Thresh

Update all your drivers and make sure for your laptop you have type II pcmcia slot. Still have problems, then call customer support for the product. I don't think theres an official way to do what your trying to do, so in other words, what you have isnt meant to work that way so that may be why your having conflicts, it's not exactly gauranteed to work.

Thresh is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

This is why you always buy Seagate...

Anyway, have you tried connecting the drive to your computer without the external case? There might be something going on between the drive and the case and the card.

Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.