External Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2004, 05:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Lightbulb External Memory

I am in a situation where I have to switch computers every 4-5 months. My question is, what is the best external memory system where I can save all of my crucial data. In regards to software, I will just load software as needed.

Should I get an Iomega zip drive, burn cd/dvds, get an external hard drive, what?

On that same note, if I get something like a 20gb Pockey Drive, is this just used to store data, or programs, or the operating system as well?

Thanks for the help.
__________________

sunnyjdsn is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 85
Default

if youre backing up more than a couple gigs of data, then go for the external or pocket hard drive. otherwise youd have to make a lot of cds/zip. i think you can store whatever you want on a pocket drive. it probably can hold a os, but doesnt necessarily have to.
__________________

__________________
Asus A7n8x-x
athlon 2800
radeon 9600 pro
512 mb 2700 mem
western digital 80gb special edition
zoerb is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 05:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I would advise on a laptop hard drive in an external USB enclosure.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 02-05-2004, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

I agree with Silesia, just make sure the enclosure is USB 2.0 (faster than most anything else for external). Any computer that I've seen lately has USB 2.0 on it.
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 12:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

I agree .. n' since most new boards support booting from USB ..u can even have the OS on that drive ..
But then if the OS is XP it will not boot if the hardware changes . I would suggest 98 in that case

On second thoughts even an external harddrive is not a bad option.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 14
Default

This is what I am thinking of getting. Good idea or bad? or is there better?

Maxtor OneTouch 120GB External Hard Drive/Backup Solution , Model A01B120, Retail $159 at newegg.com right now.
sunnyjdsn is offline  
Old 02-06-2004, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Looks like a good choice.

two things:
1. I am not a fan of the hd's that have 2MB caches. I prefer 8 MB.
2. I found a very similar hd on pricegrabber.com for $135 + shipping. Has the Maxtor name on it, but it's not a OneTouch. 120 GB, 7200 RPM, 2MB cache.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.