External or Internal backup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2010, 12:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default External or Internal backup

I want to do something extra with my backups. Let's start with my setup.

On my computer, I have:
30GB SSD for OS
320GB SATA for storing applications and downloads to not clog up my SSD
320GB WD MyBook Essentials for backups
500GB SATA only recieved recently, hardly any files.

On my home server:
2 x 640GB for backups, 1 small partition for OS, no RAID.

I am planning to get a 1TB or 1.5TB drive to backup all data, and then seal in an antistatic bag and put on the shelf to not stress it. What is more appropriate? External, Internal, or Self-made External? I know the good brands, Western Digital, Seagate, Samsung. WD is my top gun. I have little knowledge on separate externals.

Any suggestions here?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 01:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: External or Internal backup

You could get an external hard drive, that way just turn it on only when you need to use it and leave it off rest of the time. Plus it would be portable. The only problem I see is the speeds of the transfer. If you transfer large amounts of files to the external drive, it might take a while since you are limited to the speed of usb or esata if your case has one.

I plan on putting one of my drives in an external enclosure.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 02:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: External or Internal backup

Wouldn't dust be a factor?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: External or Internal backup

Not if you have in inside an enclosure. In fact, it will probably stay cleaner since it will not be running all the time.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 04:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: External or Internal backup

Well, some enclosures have vents.

Are separate enclosures any better/worse/cheaper/reliable than pre-made enclosures?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 04:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: External or Internal backup

Separate enclosures you can usually swap drives out; pre-made enclosures by HDD companies you usually cannot open them up and just swap the drive.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: External or Internal backup

Well, there is a way to open enclosures by HDD companies, you just crack thing open. That does void warranty though..

As for separate enclosures, I am not looking to swap drives. I happen to have one sitting around but I do not like it. It is cheaply made.

As memory said, file transfer will slow to a crawl with externals, I'm not sure about eSATA.

I do not have eSATA, but I could easily attach one.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 08:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: External or Internal backup

Well, yeah you can crack the pre-made open, but most of the time you can't put it back together.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 08:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,659
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: External or Internal backup

The way we do it at my company, for any users working on more important stuff we attach an external drive to their machine and set it to auto-backup the thing every day. But an internal drive would work just as well IMO.
I've just had to replace a couple of external drives which failed, but to be fair they'd been running on close to 6 years.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is online now  
Old 06-09-2010, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: External or Internal backup

I have several WD Caviar 20GB PATA HDDs from the 98 days, still works like a champ.

I do not want to stress it though. I want a once-in-a-while backup, and put on the bookshelf. I had too many hdds fail on me recently. I don't want this to happen again. They were all backed up before they fried, but If my server hdds go out, I'll be dead in the water. Call me paranoid, but I have a lot of downloads I do not want to lose.

Edit: I don't need it now, but in the near future.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 FAQ and Questions KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1600 03-04-2013 11:29 PM
Internal Hard Drives vs External, Pros and Cons? 706 System Upgrades 9 11-25-2009 11:50 AM
Internal HD Vs External HD skylinegtrv98 System Upgrades 11 10-26-2008 07:12 PM
Linux Software: Backup Solutions Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 3 07-25-2008 01:04 AM
Possible Corrupted/Infected Files. xXxexpertxXx Viruses, Spyware and Malware 11 03-12-2008 01:18 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.