eXternal hard drive Q - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2009, 03:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default eXternal hard drive Q

eYyo!

Sorry I'm a newb, looking for advice

I am thinking of getting a good external Hard drive, and i had a few q'.....

1.Can you customize an ex. Hard drive to run linux...

2.can you put a password encryption on these things?

3.I've tested on an old one and I was able to play maxpayne2 on it...can i install more programs like Adobe..etc

thx in advance!
__________________

Jeanbones is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 08:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: eXternal hard drive Q

1) Yes, you just have the drive plugged in when you boot the Linux disc. Will be pretty slow over USB, though.

2) Yes, I'm not entirely sure how though. Try Google.

3) Yes, externals work just the same as internals, except, you know... externally. And sometimes slower.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 06:11 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Default Re: eXternal hard drive Q

USB 2 would be the way you wanna go to keep its speed decent. If you don't have USB 2.0 ports, you can purchase one for cheap that plugs right in to a PCI slot.
CrunchyToast is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: eXternal hard drive Q

^dude, i don't even think they have ever made usb 1.0 external hdd's, let alone are still selling them. Also he probably has usb 2.0 ports if the computer is not over 6 years old (or when ever usb 2.0 came out, can't remember)

1.) yes you can run it, like said it would be slow though
2.)If you buy one that is already assembled then they usually come password protected (you can not use it with out the password, some have encryption built in as well.
3.)Yes, but again, any large scale things would be slower then if they were on an internal drive.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 05:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: eXternal hard drive Q

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
if the computer is not over 6 years old (or when ever usb 2.0 came out, can't remember)
Just checked on Wikipedia, it's nine years old - ten next year, which makes me feel old.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: eXternal hard drive Q

Quote:
Just checked on Wikipedia, it's nine years old - ten next year, which makes me feel old.
i should have know it was older then 6 years, i have a socket a computer siting right next to me with usb 2.0. Thanks for the confirm. That's exactly my point, if he is using something older then a socket a computer, then an external hdd upgrade/addition would be the last thing on his mind. Hopefully.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive Leech by Company Computer? ross.harris Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 01-30-2009 05:53 AM
external hard drive questions wallstreetjourn2 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-06-2008 03:35 AM
Lost 200Gb in external hard drive. malestrom Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-05-2008 12:35 PM
access notebook external hard drive without formatting snoopyAU Microsoft Windows and Software 3 08-31-2007 12:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.