external h.d. setup problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11
Default external h.d. setup problems

I just recently purchased an adaptec 2.0 usb external hard drive enclosure to house a 60 gig western digital hard drive. I have been trying to get my computer ( compaq presario R3000, running windows xp) to recognize it, but nothing happens. when i first connected it, a message came up saying that there was an error or complication or something in installing it or something with the recognition of the device maybe? If you could provide any help to get this thing up and running i would be greatly appreciative.



pyroguy_3 is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 12:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
majistic's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,434

Did it come with a cd that had the drivers ?

majistic is offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11

yes it does, but it says to only use the drivers if running windows 98SE. I think i accidently installed it, but i went in and uninstalled it right after i read the part about where it's for 98SE... just currious, would the setting of the master/slave little prong thingys have any effect to this? i've got it set on slave as far as i know.
pyroguy_3 is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 11


For the sake of anybody searching to fix a problem like this, i will outline what i did to fix my particular one.
1. returned stupid adaptec case to best buy; reasons:
-no manual/instructions
-product was not listed ANYWHERE on adaptecs website i.e. obsolete or search function
2. went to circuit city and bought ADStech usb 2.0 hard drive kit
-only 10$ more and comes with:
+full instructions plus trouble shooting 'tips'
3. read through instructions and found that i had my drive set to slave, set it to master (what it should have been). this was given in the manual!!!
-to set to master/slave/etc just refer to the casing on your h.d. usually, and it will give the allgnment of the bridge that fits over the pins.
4. connected h.d. and hooked it up to my computer.
5. started computer, h.d. recognized in the device manager(right click my computer, manage, there you go), but does not show up as a drive in 'my computer' or
6. futzed around until i realized that i had to repartition my drive and format it again.
-i had taken it from a previously used computer and needed to reformat it to my comp's specs basically.
7. go to disk management in the computer management (see above) and right click on the drive you want to format.
-choose delete partition ( you should probably not have anything on the drive you want to save...)
- delete partition...
-right click drive
select new partition
-create it to your specs
- yay!
pyroguy_3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.