External 1TB drive problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2014, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default External 1TB drive problem

I have 2 of these. Iomega eGo 1TB USB desktop 3.5" SATA drives. Came in an enclosure. Used them for a good while, maybe 3 years. Taken out of service about 5 months ago, put back in original packaging, styrofoam inserts and all, and put on a shelf. Now I need one, but it won't show up. Status light blinks on it so I figured the power supply was toast. Took it out and slaved it into my PC. No joy there either. Dead dogs or is there another solution? Both are doing the exact same thing which I find bizarre. Doesn't matter if I connect to an XP machine or a Win7 machine, nothing. And I need some data off these things.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: External 1TB drive problem

So I assume windows (under admin tools/computer mngmt/Disk mngmt doesn't see it as a unallocated volume?

Do you hear them spin up or do they not move at all? if they don't spin up at least, I'm going to say they're toast (for whatever reason after sitting) But It doesn't make sense to me as well, why they wouldn't work now if they were put away working.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,509
Default Re: External 1TB drive problem

If they still spin up, just not recognized under Windows (disk management, Device Manager, etc.) then try booting off of a Linux LiveCD to see if *nix can see it.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: External 1TB drive problem

They spin up, but it seems to take them a while to get going. Well, one does, the other clicks for a minute then takes off.

I dug up a couple other 1TB drives and they don't show up either. However a 500GB drive does when slaved in. I wonder if my BIOS won't support 1TB? My OC is an HP 8200 SFF with the most recent BIOS. The external drives shouldn't be that big of a deal I wouldn't think. I am guessing the enclosures are crap. Oh well. I'll put off the data recovery as long as I can.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: External 1TB drive problem

Weirdness continues. I got one to show up in computer management as a slave disk, but it doesn't show up in My Computer. The 500GB drive I was able to format as it has no data I will need, but it doesn't show up in My Computer either. ??
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 04:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: External 1TB drive problem

Can you try on a friends machine? Maybe it is a BIOS problem. I assume your machine is older, so who knows?
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1TB external for GPU Nukem Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 01-09-2011 08:12 AM
istoragepro 1TB External HDD Connecting To Mac problems-Help Plz Synthetic727 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-04-2011 09:30 AM
what's a good external harddrive (1TB or more) for back-up purposes? Santuzzo New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-13-2010 07:16 PM
1TB (SATA) Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000, 3.5" 7200rpm Serial ATA300 Hard Drive james henson System Upgrades 1 05-04-2007 06:54 AM
Hitachi breaks 1TB hard drive barrier with 7K1000 j12 Off Topic Discussion 7 01-05-2007 05:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.