externa hard drive enclosures - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2005, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default externa hard drive enclosures

I have an old bulky plastic 3.5" hard drive enclosures. I am looking to get my self another. Are there any enclosures that dont require a power cord? Its a pain in the neck to worry about the power adapter and such when moving it around.

I found a few nice looking enclsures on newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...155-505&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...155-705&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...155-501&depa=0

Or does a 3.5" drive consume too much power for an enclosure not to have a power adapter?
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 12:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

since an external HD isnt connected to your PSU. pehaps its power requirements surpass that witch USB or Firewire can support. i dont know those limits, but if thy could, i dont see why thy wouldnt unless there was such a problem.
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Are there any exclosures that dont requiere a ac adapter? Maybe a 2.5" drive. I would think there are some out there that dont require a power adapter.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

uhm, are you talking a/c adapter or power cord? Its gotta get power some how. Mine uses a standard pc power cord that I can pick up just about anywhere.
Sui is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

After looking at 2.5" drive enclosures, some of them have different power adapters, some use the ps2, a second usb connection, or a ac adpter.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...250-001&depa=0
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-305&depa=0

The only hard drives that dont require an extra power adapter are the pen drives?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 10:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

i think this is a very valid point, i got a lend of a freinds hdd with a belkin enclosure and has a power cable and was a pain in the a*** and i only took it between mine and my gfs. i dont know how much power usb2 can supply but obioucly its no enough so why cant they make it so its powered off two ports they could at least give u the option of which to use.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 12:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

This one is a 2.5" drive that is powered off of two usb ports.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...46-605R&depa=0

I am just wondering if there are any decent sized drives that dont require an ac adapter.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 12:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

yea but isnt that abit small if u want a big disk in it i mean ive seen a samsung 80gig is £95 where as u can get a 200gig for alittle more if its 3.5".
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Thats why it doesnt need an ac adapter, it ohly supports 2.5" drive (laptop drives) which uses less power than 3.5" drives.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.