Experts Needed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2004, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default Experts Needed

I installed Panda AntiVirus Titanium on my Windows XP Pro and ever since then my computer is very slow. The task bar freezes up and the cursor is always busy. I can't open any programs. I tried System Restore and it said that the restore operation could not be done.

I opened in safe-mode and uninstalled Panda AV then loaded Windows normally and the problem was still there.

Does anyone know how I can make everything work like how it should?
__________________

Grimey is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 09:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Never heard of Panda AV but i would start with the Program maker .There may be some patches available to address the problems your having.Sounds like it has taken control of your registry in some way .Try windows cd boot and see if you can
do some repairs that way .
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

Thanks for your help. I'll e-mail the company to see if they can help.

Did anyone else experiance this problem. Maybe its not Panda.
__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

it's very possible that it's not at all the program itself, but stuff you've downloaded from the internet, other programs... malware, adware, spyware, some of those things can really take over your system... you should download ad-aware and spybot, update and run those programs and see what comes off of your computer.

http://www.lavasoftusa.com
For ad-aware

http://download.com.com/3000-8022-10122137.html
For spybot 1.3
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 10:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

I have Webroot Spy Sweeper. Is that a good product?
__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Old 06-08-2004, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

yea they all do the same thing, as long as you're getting rid of the spyware.. and that does sound familiar, I think a friend told me to get that, but eh.. hehe
Demalii is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 09:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

If all else fails, backup your most need data, and reformat!
ag3 is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 09:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Grimey
I have Webroot Spy Sweeper. Is that a good product?
Very good product IMO. I use it myself! Also try Window Washer by the same company!
ag3 is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 12:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

I'd download Ad-Aware 6 and Spybot: Search and Destroy and update and run them.

In my experience, if I run more than one updated Spyware remover, the second one will find something the first one didnt.
Make sure you don't run them at the same time, though, because they will probably find some common problems and try to clean them at the same time... can be a mess, etc...
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 58
Default

Thanks everyone. I tried sweeping adware and spyware but it didnt help. I think ill do what Agex000 suggested.
__________________

__________________

Asus P5V800-MX Motherboard
Intel Pentium 4 Processor with HT
3.2ghz
1GB RAM
Windows Vista Ultimate
Three 40gig Maxtor Hard drives
16x DVD +/- RW Drive
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Sony 5.1 speaker system
etc etc..
Grimey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.