eVGA GeForce 6800 GT Video Card? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2004, 10:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

6800 ultra more faster n expensive than 6800.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-18-2004, 10:39 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

I've herd of people who overclocked there GT and made it faster than the Ultra http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-203&depa=1

Like what the guy says here in the first review on the site
__________________

NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

That is what I did, so save $100 and get the GT. I have that exact same card, FarCry free and runs everything in FarCry MAX Detail and not one little sticky.

Go with the GT, and then Overclock. You will have to find out how to enable the overclocking feature if you get it and OC it. Post if you get it and I will tell you how to enable Overclocking.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 01:50 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

A couple more questions does this card support DirectX9.0c and why is it that the GpU clock on the GT is less than my current card yet it gets better frames? My card has a gpu clocked at 430mhz.
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 03:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NanoWarrior
A couple more questions does this card support DirectX9.0c and why is it that the GpU clock on the GT is less than my current card yet it gets better frames? My card has a gpu clocked at 430mhz.
Yes they support DX 9.0c. The answer to question 2 is because they change in the memory (I think). 6800's have GDDR3 which is faster and better that DDR.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Man that's alot of money for a video card
I Wish!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 10:18 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

1. actually DirectX 9.0c will be built around the 6800, to incorporate smartshader 3.0

2. the 6800 destroys even the 9800 XT; the clock speed is lower than the 5900, but it's not necessarily the clock speed that shows performance, it's how many instructions it can complete per clock cycle - Intel learned this the hard way against AMD
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 12:41 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

1. actually DirectX 9.0c will be built around the 6800, to incorporate smartshader 3.0


yeah...
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 06:22 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Any Idea when this GT card will go down in price?
NanoWarrior is offline  
Old 07-19-2004, 09:00 PM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

No clue, It is at an OK price for now...maybe...2-3 Months it will be down to $300.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.