eVGA 6600GT Question.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2005, 04:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default eVGA 6600GT Question..

I am getting an 8x AGP eVGA 6600GT 128MB, and there are only 2 requirements:

350W PSU

And

"An available 4-pin Molex hard drive power dongle"

What the hell is that?
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 04:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the only reason you're getting confused is probably because of the word 'power dongle'

You don't know what your 4pin molex connectors are? They power every drive in your case after all with the exception of the floppy which is smaller.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 04:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Well here is the MoBo I am getting:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813152052

So with my everything else on it, would the video card still connect to the 4 pin connector? I just dont get why it says hard drive power dongle, wouldn't it be motherboard power dongle?
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 05:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

If I remember correctly, my 6800GT came with a 4pin moltex to PCI-Express converter, so if EVGA packages the 6600GT like the 6800GT, then you will be able to plug your card in if you have a free moltex connector availible. I'm 99% sure you will if you only run 1 hard drive and 1 cd rom drive.
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hacp
If I remember correctly, my 6800GT came with a 4pin moltex to PCI-Express converter, so if EVGA packages the 6600GT like the 6800GT, then you will be able to plug your card in if you have a free moltex connector availible. I'm 99% sure you will if you only run 1 hard drive and 1 cd rom drive.
Really? My eVGA 6800 GT is powered by the 6-pin, not a molex.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,006
Default

yes, but it comes with a 6 pin to moltex converter. Did yours not come with one?
__________________
6600GT PCI-E for sale/Trade. Check the FS/FT forums on tech-forums for details.
http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=77816
Hacp is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

my rosewill can with a 6 pin power coard but since i have pci-e i dont have to use it very surprized i thought all pcie cards were gonna need power but that was a wile ago and ive learned but im sure u should be able to plug in a 4 pin if not get an adapter no biggie
and u have a 4 pin so everything is gravy train
__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-22-2005, 06:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
Really? My eVGA 6800 GT is powered by the 6-pin, not a molex
That's because yours is PCI-E and not AGP.

Quote:
So with my everything else on it, would the video card still connect to the 4 pin connector? I just dont get why it says hard drive power dongle, wouldn't it be motherboard power dongle?
Dude, you're putting too much emphasis on the words 'power dongle'

It's just saying you need a regular 4pin molex connector, it's not some special type of crazy thing they are throwing at you that you don't have.

Hard drive, CD-ROM 'power dongle' is all the same crap.

Your card will need a 4pin molex connector to give it extra power....that's it
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.