Everything Work? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2004, 02:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default Everything Work?

I want to build a computer and am just making sure everything is compatible. I allready have a Monitor, Keyboard/Mouse, DVD Burner, and Hard Drive.

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 512K, L2 Cache, Socket 939

Mobo (Taking Suggestions) - GIGABYTE "GA-K8NSNXP-939" nForce3 Ultra Chipset Motherboard for AMD Socket 939 CPU

RAM - CORSAIR XMS Xtreme Memory Speed Series, Xtra-Low Latency 184-Pin 1GB(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 w/ Platinum Heat Spreader, Model TWINX1024-3200XLPT

Video Card - ATI RADEON 9800 PRO Video Card, 256MB DDR, 256-bit, DVI/TV-Out, 8X AGP

Case - ANTEC Black Performance Series II SOHO File Server Tower ATX Case with 400W Power Supply, Model "SX1040BII"

PLease remember that I have stretched my budget and am looking to save money, so no upgrading, only maybe downgrading a little (like the RAM and MAYBE the Video Card).


chog is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582

i say keep video downgrade RAM, and always look for a cheaper case... otherwise it looks nice should perform well.


The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 03:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 159
Send a message via Yahoo to kizzeith

I'd keep the videocard as well. Maybe just less RAM for now? If i was looking to cut anything I would go with 512 mb of the 3200 RAM for now, then in two weeks or a month or whatever dish out the dough for another stick of 512 Thats what Id do anyways...:P
Gateway Machine - I know...I sold out...if I could do it over I'd have built like I used to :(
MS Vista Premium 32-bit
AMD Phenom (9500) Quad-core Processor 2.20 ghz
500GB hard drive
2 Free PCI-E slots x1
1 Free PCI-E x16
kizzeith is offline  
Old 11-20-2004, 03:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 321

if i were u, i'd stay with what u've planned.

AMD 64 bit 3500+ Socket 939
MSI K8N Neo 2 Plat. Socket 939 mobo
Corsair TWINX1024-3200 RAM
Nvidia GeForce 6800 GT Graphic Card
Altec Lansing 5051 Speaker system
Creative Sound Blaster live 7.1
Maxtor SATA 200Gb HDD
Plextor PX-712A DVD±R/RW Drive
Wired Mouse/Keyboard by Logitech
Samsung 795MB Flat Screen CRT
Raidmax Scorpio 868W Casing
Antec Truepower 430 or 480
Thermaltake (Pipe101) Heatsink
Thermaltake Street Fighter Fan
derfist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.