Every game freezes, or kicks me out! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2005, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5
Default Every game freezes, or kicks me out!

CPU Type AMD Athlon XP-A, 1833 MHz (11 x 167) 2500+ MSI K7N2 Delta-L (MS-6570G) (5 PCI, 1 AGP, 1 ACR, 3 DDR DIMM, Audio, LAN)
Motherboard Chipset nVIDIA nForce2 Ultra 400
System Memory 1024 MB (DDR SDRAM)
Video Adapter RADEON 9800 PRO (128 MB)
Power Supply 330W

Hey everyone, I'm having some problems with my computer. First thing, when I try to plug my only HD with an 80 pin connector to my primary EIDE controller on the board it never detects. If I use a 40pin cable it detects fine, but gives me a warning msg on bootup. Also my 300w power supply just died on me the other day, so I replaced it with a 330, everything powers fine. I don't think that I am low on power because I don't even have my optical storage devices powered....Other then I sould format because of some errors, every game I play just either freezes after 10minutes or so , or it just exits me back to the desktop. I am really stumped!

Motherboard 46 °C (115 °F)
CPU 41 °C (106 °F)

project95talon is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

there is a good chance ur psu isnt powerful enough. ur graphics and cpu will use more power when doin a more demadin prosess such as gaming and that psiu simply might not be enough for that. that problem with teh 80pin cable is very unusual cant say ive come accross it before so cant be help there sorry.

AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5

Man that sucks! I just spent 100$ on a POS PSU then!!!
project95talon is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 12:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
idiotec's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748

Man that sucks! I just spent 100$ on a POS PSU then!!!
$100 for a 330W PSU?! I would still try a reformat though before spending any more money....

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.