Ever accidently buy hardware on ebay? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2005, 03:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 33
Default

I just started using ebay myself. I have spend hours looking up various things I might want to buy. I started selling stuff too.

Like right now I got a celeron 667 wiht a mobo that doesn't work. So I start looking up new mobo's, well then I would need ram so I look that up. Soon I am almost spending $100+ on things I want. It sucks though because all the mobo's I look at require low density ram and man does that hurt the wallet.
__________________

jppoulin is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 03:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

Last week, I purchased a complete system that included 667 PIII (not the celeron), 256mb ram, Matrox G400 graphics, 48x CDROM, 20gb hard drive, etc for just $69. Buy something like that and mix parts. You can't buy the individual parts that cheap so buy complete systems.
__________________

gsbtech is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 03:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

i love ebay!! i buy and sell things all the time. the only bad experience i've had, is one time i won an OEM disc for Windows XP Home and the seller turned out to be a fraud and was stealing everybody's money. Ebay NOR paypal could get our money back, so i ended up losing $92.
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 03:58 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

I bought an OEM copy of 2000 pro (no activation!). The package included a 60mhz Pentium process with a label (piece of hardware required by MS for selling OEM software...)
gsbtech is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 04:57 PM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

how much did you get it for?
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 05:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168
Default

That was about six months ago so I don't remember the price. It was cheap enough for me not to care. My choices for the small corporate network running Samba from Linux as a domain controller was XP pro or 2000 pro. 2000 was good enough for their needs.

Speaking OEM, anyone else getting spam from eastern Europe for dirt cheap software, e.g., http://baejbd.magnasoft.info/?foftxgz41zpgjwdf
__________________

gsbtech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.