Ethernet port not working. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2005, 04:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default Ethernet port not working.

Ok guys, this all started because some jer-off yanked my surge-protector chord out of the wall. Well of course I put my surge protector chord back into the wall socket, turned on my comp, and voila, my comp continuously tells me that there is an Operating system error and refuses to boot up Windows. So I end up booting Windows from its cd, reinstalling everything, re-installing ati-drivers, sound blaster audigy stuff, and everything else, but I notice something strange. When I try to connect to the internet, no dice. My Westell modem refused to acknowledge an Ethernet connection between my moden and my comp. Me, being the paranoid bastard that I am, had an extra, un-opened and non-used Westell modem lying around, with a new Ethernet chord. I try using it too, and guess what? **** out luck again, and that is when I realized that it wasn't my modem that was ruined, it was my my comp's ethernet port that was not working. I am currently connected to the internet via USB, but any idea on how to fix my ethernet port problem on my compy?

Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019

id say its gone for good... thats jut what i think tho.. might be wrong.. just make the bum who pulled ur cord out buy u a pci network card, or bettera a whole new mobo

Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

buy a pci network card
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 168

Next time try chkdsk or automatic system restore. You probably just ended up with a corrupted file that was being written while the plug was pulled.

I didn't see in the post where you installed the drivers for your motherboard's chipset. I also don't see any mention of drivers for your ethernet controller. If you haven't installed the MB drivers, do that first after a clean install.
gsbtech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.