ethernet not working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2005, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to havetoastinstea Send a message via Yahoo to havetoastinstea
Default ethernet not working

I'm having problems with my ethernet. The 10/100 PCI Ethernet Adapter in the system devices says:
"You must enable the device in the BIOS.(Code 29) See your hardware documentation for details, or contact your computer manufacturer to get an updated BIOS."
It also says something about there's no interupt request. I have no idea what to do. I'm not a computer wiz. It was working fine before until someone messed with it.
HP told me to reset the defaults in the BIOS, but that didn't work either.
__________________

havetoastinstea is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Oh god and HP PC

Please follow the instructions in this thread to ID your hardware
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to havetoastinstea Send a message via Yahoo to havetoastinstea
Default

What instructions?
havetoastinstea is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

did you go into the bios and check that it is enabled?
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Please expand "It was working fine before until someone messed with it."

Go to device manager and find your network device. Is it enabled? Please post the device status.

Don't attempt to flash your BIOS because it sounds like you are an inexperienced user unless you want whole heaps of trouble.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 04:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

after you power on the PC, keep tapping the key F2 or Delete, until you arrive to a blue screen called BIOS

search for the onboard device, and make sure the on board LAN is enable, if not, change to enable and remember to save
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to havetoastinstea Send a message via Yahoo to havetoastinstea
Default

"It was working fine before until someone messed with it."
I mean that I went on vacation and someone here messed up my computer so they tried to delete the partition and make a new one. They didn't save the drivers or anything so nothing works.

I went into the BIOS and there is nothing that says LAN. Everything is enabled in the PCI configuration though. In the device manager it's also enabled. It says "exists in all hardware profiles."

I don't know if any of that helps. =\
havetoastinstea is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

just curious...

do you have a LAN card or a onboard LAN, or both??
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to havetoastinstea Send a message via Yahoo to havetoastinstea
Default

Lan card.
havetoastinstea is offline  
Old 06-20-2005, 05:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Have you tried reinstalling the drivers?
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.