Ethernet - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2009, 05:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Dr.House's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Rx Counter
Posts: 151
Send a message via AIM to Dr.House
Default Ethernet

Ok, the doctor needs a consult.

Does anyone, anyone at all know why the Ethernet specification allows for two sending and receiving lines in CAT5 cable?

I have been looking forever and no one seems to know, or at least talk about it.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Dr. House
--------------------------------------------------

Desktop:Antec Sonata Elite, MSI P55-GD80, Core i7 860 "2.8GHz, Arctic Pro 7, 8Gb GSkill DDR3 1600, 4xWD Caviar Blue 164GB in RAID5 , Radeon HD 5750
Server:Antec Sonata Elite, GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P, Intel Pentium E5200 2.5GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 7200GS, 4GB G.SKILL PI Black DDR2 800, 1TB array 4x640GB WB Caviar Blacks in RAID 10
Thinkpad T61 CTO 2.2 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 gig, 100 gig 7200 RPM, 15.4" wide screen (for sale ~$800)
MacBook Pro C2D 2.2GHz 4 gig, 100 gig 7200 RPM
PowerBook G4 Aluminum
Dr.House is offline  
Old 03-12-2009, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Ethernet

Dr. House,

I found this at Wikipedia:

Quote:
1000BASE-T details
In a departure from both 10BASE-T and 100BASE-TX, 1000BASE-T uses all four cable pairs for simultaneous transmission in both directions through the use of echo cancellation and a 5-level pulse amplitude modulation (PAM-5) technique. The symbol rate is identical to that of 100BASE-TX (125 Mbaud) and the noise immunity of the 5-level signaling is also identical to that of the 3-level signaling in 100BASE-TX, since 1000BASE-T uses 4-dimensional Trellis Coded Modulation (TCM) to achieve a 6 dB coding gain across the 4 pairs.

The data is transmitted over four copper pairs, eight bits at a time. First, eight bits of data are expanded into four 3-bit symbols through a non-trivial scrambling procedure based on a linear feedback shift register; this is similar to what is done in 100BASE-T2, but uses different parameters. The 3-bit symbols are then mapped to voltage levels which vary continuously during transmission.
source: Gigabit Ethernet - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 03-13-2009, 12:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Ethernet

That sums it up, Gigabit Ethernet is the ONLY one what uses all four pairs in a cat5e or cat6 cable.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desktop's ethernet ports not working? Akumajin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 02-18-2009 09:43 PM
Just set up new wireless router, speed help? And ethernet cable cost Q? Secret Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 09-06-2008 10:47 AM
Ethernet cable stuck in Sony Vaio...?!? TheJDiz18 Laptops and Notebooks 3 09-05-2008 05:40 PM
BT Voyager 190 ADSL + Ethernet Switch Drakir Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 03-17-2008 11:01 AM
TCP/IP vs ethernet carey_w Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 10-02-2007 12:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.