Erase HD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2005, 02:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default Erase HD?

How do I erase (and re format) my laptops HD?
Thanks in advance
Yan
__________________

__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

What file system are you using? (ie FAT32 or NTFS)
__________________

Samm is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

NTFS I think, its a dell 600m POS which is erroring on me like hell
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

PS- How do I check?
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

What OS are you running & can you boot into it?
Samm is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

XP Pro, its brand new, 4-5 months, running SP2, it boots fine, but it freezes and errors and I want to reinstall and see if it is a hard ware problem or software...
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 02:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Anyone else???
Thanks
yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-15-2005, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

Go into disk management tool in XP (under administrative tools somewhere). This will tell you what file system you are using.

If you are using FAT32, you can use a normal boot disk (containing format.com) to boot to DOS. Then at the A: prompt, type FORMAT C:/s/q
Make sure though that boot disk contains CDROM drivers if your XP CD is not bootable for any reason.

If you are using NTFS, I think you can just boot XP from CD & it should give you option to reformat the C partition before installing.

If it doesn't, boot from boot disk (containing fdisk & format). run fdisk & delete the partitions. (NTFS are recognised as NON-DOS partitions in fdisk). Recreate partitions but do not format, XP will do this for you on the reinstall & give you the option to select NTFS/FAT32 etc
__________________

Samm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.